Prioritizing Travel


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
August 20th 2015
Published: August 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

On a travel blog, I read about a yearly 12 trip challenge. The author urges the planning of one trip per month to ensure the fulfillment of travel goals. Long hauls to exotic destinations are not required; spending one night in a hotel per month qualifies. I love this idea. Worried that our travel pace will slow with the arrival of Junior, Jefe and I have accepted the challenge. A day trip to a local redwood forest encouraged us that travel with a little one is possible. It just takes longer and the focus changes.



September and October are packed with work-related obligations and family visits, so no overnight trips until November. In the meantime, we plan to use September and October to enjoy local sites. The list of must-do activities in San Fransisco is huge. I am craving a beach day. Jeff is yearning for bigger redwoods and Golden Gate Park. Bigger trips we hope to take are Lake Tahoe, Yosemite, and Hawaii. My favorite part about these destinations - since we are so close, we can visit in the off-season.



I have big plans to write about our adventures. Mounting pressure of relatives eager to see and hear all about Junior will undoubtedly provide the needed inspiration. (FYI - right now she is by herself giggling for no reason in her swing. The cuteness doesn't end.) I also hope to keep in touch with friends. They often remark that they like the G+ pics, even though they never get around to writing an email (which I completely understand. Have I written you recently?) My idea of this blog is to combine something of a diary, photo album, wanna-be travel journalism, and one of those family holiday newsletters you get with a Christmas card. Since I still have some free time, I will get the ball rolling with 2 day trips we took: Alacatraz and a redwood forest. Stay tuned.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb