SLO to Las Padres National Forest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
March 11th 2011
Published: March 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

William's RanchWilliam's RanchWilliam's Ranch

I Wish !!!
March 9 San Luis Obispo to Las Padres National Forest
Took my time getting things done and loading up at the Motel 6 South in SLO and didn't get on the road till after 1100. Guess part of me wanted to stay another day. Wasn't focused I guess and missed my turn onto Hwy 1 up the coast and ended heading up Hwy 101 and didn't realize I'd missed my turn till I was almost to Paso Robles. I course corrected at Hwy 46 and took it West towards the coast. Not a total loss as on this stretch of Hwy 46 I went through some of the most scenic country I have seen so far. On 46 West I crossed back over to Hwy 1 at Cambria and headed North. The coast road kept getting more and more scenic as well as having more and more hairpin curves and climbs. I had intended to make it to Monterey but it was approaching dark and I had only made 66 of the about 130 miles to Monterey. I had already decided I wasn't going to be driving on that narrow winding road at night when I spotted a sign that said
William's RanchWilliam's RanchWilliam's Ranch

You can just make out the ranchhouse nestled in the valley in the distance. A real piece of heaven for someone.
Las Padres National Forest, Plaskett Creek campground. I whipped in and got a campsite as I had pretty much given up on finding a hotel on this road. I just wanted off the road at this time. The campground was actually a very nice one and as it was National Park campground I was able to use my Access National Parks pass for free entry and a campsite for half price $11. So I spent the night there. It had no electricity but at least I was off the road and safe in my spot. Not running off a cliff or something equally ignorant.
The park was very quiet and I had made sure to get a spot further in the park away from the ocean. I did walk down to the ocean and also to a picnic area about 100 yards south trying not to get run over on the narrow shoulder. By a vehicle or a bicyclist.
After setting up camp I relaxed and did a little homework and catching up on details and settled in for a restful nights sleep. It was cold but I was comfortable enough under the blankets in my sleeper.
It was interesting watching the bicyclist coming in and setting up their tents. They had a bag about the size of a Wal Mart bag but would start working with it and soon a tent would take shape. Can't say I believe a tent would be comfortable in that cold, damp mountain air but I guess people just want a "space" they can call their own.
I know I was nice and snug in my "sleeper" in my truck.
I planned on continuing on to Monterey the next day. More on that in my next entry.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Wine countryWine country
Wine country

Ranches on one side of the road and vinyards on the other and gorgeous scenery. And great beaches a few miles west. This is a great place.
Moonstone Beach DriveMoonstone Beach Drive
Moonstone Beach Drive

In Cambria Moonstone Beach Drive has a nice boardwalk for walking along the beach. On the south end is Leffingwell's Landing which has a picnic area.
Leffingwell's LandingLeffingwell's Landing
Leffingwell's Landing

Leffingwell's Landing on the south end of the boardwalk is a nice place for a picnic. It also has restrooms.
Elephant SealsElephant Seals
Elephant Seals

Elephant seals at Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery.
Southern Big SurSouthern Big Sur
Southern Big Sur

This place was so beautiful I sat on this ledge looking at it for a long time till I moved on because other people showed up and I wanted to let them have a good picture without me in it.
The roadThe road
The road

Talk about the long and winding road. And no matter how narrow it got the bicyclist rode on the side of the road or in the road. Had to be very careful not to run over one of them.
Plaskett Creek CampgroundPlaskett Creek Campground
Plaskett Creek Campground

Plaskett Creek Campground in the Los Padres National Forest. Sure a welcome sight to get off that road and get camp set up before it got dark. $11 a night with an Access parks pass. $22 without one.


11th March 2011

RELAXING
THE pictures are very relaxing , the ocean should be high have a good time
11th March 2011
Wine country

view
sounds like you a relly enjoying yourself , everything look so nice , they show the same picture on wine corn commercial
11th March 2011

DIFFERENT
HARD TO believe on the other side is interstate road to another city glad to hear it meeting your expectation , if it was not expensive very happy there
12th March 2011

DAY 2
THE pictures are like what you see on nat'l Geographic channel have a good time sounds like you are becoming good with winding roads

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb