My Life as a Hollywood Intern


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
January 22nd 2011
Published: January 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I really wanted to spend a summer working in America to gain some experience for my business course. However many of you will know it’s not easy to get the correct documents to go to America but luckily I came across Bunac who were so helpful and aided me in obtaining my visa and insurance for the trip. They also provided me a lot of information regarding searching for jobs and accommodation.

My time in Los Angeles was one of the most enjoyable and greatest learning experiences of my life. I decided to venture on the trip alone as I felt this was the best way to meet new people and totally be myself. I had to decide what area I was going to live in and how I was going to get around. Most people drive in Los Angeles and as a result the traffic and roads are very busy!

I applied to over 50 internships before I arrived as was so happy when I secured my one for an online magazine, the best job I have ever had! I worked in the office a couple of days a week and then went to different events such as launch parties, benefits and premieres. I have interviewed celebrities from programmes such as The Hills, Glee and Desperate Housewives and even met America Ferrera and Zac Efron! After I interview the celebrities I would transcribe what was said and send over to my boss to write up for the blog. It’s a very fast process but I thoroughly enjoy all aspects of it!

I found an amazing apartment in the Westwood area it was really easy to meet people as I was living in a university block right beside UCLA. There are a lot of young people living in the area, and most are really friendly and want to exchange stories. I have enjoyed some amazing days out with my roommates from concerts to hiking around the Hollywood Hills and visiting attractions such as Sunset and Hollywood boulevard. I even managed to master the metro system, which is very cheap and relatively reliable! There is never a dull moment and the city is so fast paced and full of excitement, whether it be a film premiere or a famous celebrity restaurant to eat at.

I feel that I accomplished so much in such a short time and I hope that I can inspire others to go to America to work. I want to encourage those who are unsure about their venture ahead to go for it. I strongly advise those considering doing a programme to register for it early and in a legitimate way, i.e through an organisation like Bunac. If you don’t you may face serious problems! Good luck with your adventures!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb