Planning my trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
March 4th 2018
Published: March 4th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Trans America RouteTrans America RouteTrans America Route

This is the planned route I will take.
I’m now well into the planning stage of my trip. In order to do this right, I have purchased the Adventure Cycling Trans America Map package.

From those maps I have almost completed converting them to .GPX files via Ridewithgps.com. This is a fabulous website which uses a satellite Map template as a basis to plot your own bike route. It shows bike paths as well where they exist!

It enables one to actually get a vicarious view of the route. I will transfer those .GPS files into my Garmin edge computer, an easy process.

I considered buying a new bike for the trip but realized the Surly Long Haul Trucker I used down the West Coast was very comfortable and adequate.

It is heavy, (33 lbs), but I’m probably going to put another 30-40 pounds on it.

So what's the point of saving a few pounds on an expensive new bike?

Next is planning the overnights.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Single segment of planned routeSingle segment of planned route
Single segment of planned route

This is what a single segment looks like on Ridewithgps.com


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb