Day 21 - Carson City, NV & Yosemite National Park


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We woke up in Carson City this morning to a beautiful sun-shiney day. I was trying to get excited but I knew today was day 21 and the laundry had to be done. Tim absolutely LOVES Ihop so he talked me into an early morning stack of pancakes and boy were they yummy. I haven't had pancakes in forever and as bad as I hate to admit it, these were really really good. Our sweet waitress recommended a local laundromat and gave us directions so as soon as we were done we headed over that way. Tim helped me bag up the laundry and carry it all inside. He even stripped the bed and brought me the sheets and the comforter. All I could think as I put them in the washer was how fresh and clean the bed would be tonight when I went to lay my head down. I bleached the sheets.......I just love the smell of bleached sheets and now I couldn't wait for bed tonight ! Tim worked on several things on the motorhome while I washed and dried all the laundry. I really like doing laundry in those big washer and dryers because it only takes about an hour to do 6 loads of stuff and then you're done for more than a week or so. It's so quick and easy. Well, I was done with the laundry and Tim was finished working on Bertha. He needed a couple of parts so we made our way downtown and found an RV dealership and tried to get help. They didn't have any of the parts he needed so we walked around for a little bit checking out all the new style motorhomes and then it was time for lunch. Our friends Susan and Mark had recommended a Mexican place for lunch so we made our way over to El Charro Avitia and had a light lunch. It was delicious just like they said and especially the peach margaritas ! Our bellies were full, the laundry was done and we were off towards the California state line. We were on a mission to make it to Yosemite before nightfall so Tim put the pedal to the medal and before I knew it we were at the California line. We got pulled over for a full blown inspection but that was okay because Tim needed a bathroom break anyway. The inspection lady said they were mostly checking for fruit that carried gypsy moths but after a 30 minute search, inside and out, we were cleared to get back on the road. You would think they would be more concerned about drugs or weapons or something like that but all they kept asking about is the food, go figure !! We drove and drove and we finally made it to Yosemite National Park. It was getting kind of late but we began driving through and even saw tons of deer everywhere. We had already called and knew that all of the campgrounds were full for tonight so we just took a chance that we would be able to find somewhere inside Yosemite to sleep. It was getting dark so we decided to start looking for a place and we eventually found the perfect place. It was kind of off into the woods and out of the way and there we no signs posted that said "No Overnight Parking" so we pulled in and made ourselves at home. It'll be weird not sleeping at Wal-Mart and I know Tim's disappointed he won't get to make his nightly shopping run but I think it will be fun sleeping in the woods tonight ! I can't wait to explore the rest of Yosemite tomorrow. Miss you and wish you were here ! :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb