Work and Play


Advertisement
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Buck brush, Deer Brush, Green Leaf Manzanita, Whitethorn, Mariposa Manzanita, logs that turn to dust, stumps that turn to dust, needle duff mats on steep slopes, bear clover, invisible holes and sticks that lie hidden beneath bear clover, rattle snakes, ticks, vicious ermines, bears that look cute, rabid squirrels, coworkers with sleep deprivation, forgotten hardhats, forgotten lunches, forgotten coffee, and of course poison oak plantations; these are a few of my favorite job hazards.

I just found out that I will be taking part in the yearly "Fen" Survey. This means my work schedule is changing dramatically, with my work-weeks being put back to back. I'll have three eight day "tours" with six days off in between. Me and one other guy will be hiking into the Emigrant Wilderness and staying out there for eight days at a time, surveying for and studying fens. We'll be gathering data pertaining to their soil, water, and plant species compositions. I leave for the first tour on August 18th. It sounds like its going to be pretty intense, but I think I will enjoy it.

What is a fen? Its wet, made up of lots of peat, and gets most of its moisture from groundwater and runoff. Its not a bog, I'll tell you that much.

This project will keep me here until October. Nobody can tell me for sure if there will be work for me after that. Either way, I've been applying for more jobs, one in Death Valley NP doing the same thing (The battle wages onward between the Dept. of Interior and the Dept. of Agriculture. I often find myself at the border of Yosemite shaking my fist in the air at their pathetic barbed wire fence and sometimes shouting insults into my radio, just hoping those weak little Interior-ites are scanning on channel 7).

Oh dear, shall I become a traitor? We shall see.

Oh yes, I almost forgot to mention: Spirit Deer. I had heard the rumors of the white deer for many weeks. Tuesday, I finally got a glimpse of the freakiest looking inhabitant of Pine Mountain Lake (Vacation-home- subdivision/gated-community/deer-sanctuary). It was 6:30 AM and I was driving to work. There he was standing ever so grotesquely albino by the side of the road. I drove the rest of the way to work knowing my life would never be the same. Just thought I'd mention it.

out...




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Siesta 2Siesta 2
Siesta 2

Again, off the clock. No joke!
Siesta 3Siesta 3
Siesta 3

Still off the clock. Really!


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb