Day 39 - Yosemite


Advertisement
Published: September 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

An early start saw us head deep into the Park for a hike to Nevada Falls, which is the half way mark for a longer hike up to Half Dome.
The walk was extremely long and hard, especially when it is up hill first, on a zigzag climb, oh and the main path is shut as there were some volunteers further up the route, clearing some fallen trees.
After waiting around for almost half an hour so on the first bridge, Todd decided to find an alternative route, finding a nearby ‘cargo’ route, used for mule trains to haul ‘freight’ up the mountain. Having kept out of sight of any wardens or fellow climbers, we made our way up the route, taking in the views making it all worthwhile.

We eventually made it to the Nevada Falls, not before walking under a nearby fall making the path very slippery. When we reached the Falls, the shoes and socks come off and the refreshing relief flows through my body. It is amazing that anyone is allowed in the water when we were so close to the bridge that is right by the brow of the Falls. Jess even takes it on herself to soak me as I went to help her!
We were even allowed to climb down alongside the top of the Falls, and you can almost reach over and touch the gushing water as it begins its descend.
We left Mark, Steve, Jess, Joanna and Kristina who were heading even further, up to Half Dome, whilst the rest of us begin our steady descend alongside the Falls.
I found it a little tricky slowly stepping down on the uneven rocks and joined Annabel in taking them really slowly. As we reached the bottom of the first waterfall, we crossed a small bridge to the other side where the trail continues. We were the only people going down this way, so came across many groups of people passing us on their way up.
I think we chose the better route to go up first and then down, and this was backed up when we reached the brow of the second waterfall, where in going down, were right next to the water as it is falling, so much so that it soaks you and the path you are walking on.
Actually in walking down these soaked steps, with my sunglasses covered so much I couldn't really see anything, and with everyone else walking up against you, I was trying my best not to think about slipping and falling into the Falls.
Eventually I made it down ahead of the others, by quite a distance in the end, so much so I went to the toilet by that first bridge and was still waiting around for them.
All that was left is to walk the mile or so back to the start of the hike, where a kiosk waited for our food order of a wonderful foot long hot dog and soda, following the recommendation of Todd once more.

The afternoon was ours to do with as we please as we were waiting for the Half-Domers to return. I found the nearby outdoor amphitheatre which had a handful of people on its long benches, and made myself comfortable on one section and started listening to my music.
As I look up at the clear blue sky above I end up falling asleep. I was joined by Becca, Zack and Scott, and we were left alone for close to an hour before finally stirring.
My word was that a very nice, and needed, sleep. So much so, I tried to fall asleep again, but it didn’t happen.

The four of us headed back to the general store, where the other non Half-Domers were, and Todd gets some pizzas for us, and we are soon joined by Jess but not the others, who follow 10 minutes or so later. It turned out that they got separated near the top, and Jess made her way down with 2 blokes.

Back at our site, as I was listening to my music before bed and realised that I didn’t seem to have my Navajo necklace on, so searched frantically in my tent, before retracing my steps up to the toilet block and back with no success.
Before I realised it was missing, someone had shone their torch at my tent, but as I had my earphones in could not hear anything. When I had finally taken them out there was no noise, and the light soon went away. I soon fell asleep eager to try and find the necklace first thing tomorrow before it was too late.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb