Hiking in Yosemity Valley.


Advertisement
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lost Arrow PinnacleLost Arrow PinnacleLost Arrow Pinnacle

In Yosemity National Park.
Yosemity Valley, sunny Side Campground.
24-10-2002.

I leave the campground early for a cup of java in the village - my young rockclimbing friends are all deep asleep after a whole day of strenuous climbing and probably nighttime fun with their japanese ladyfriends in their tents, provided they still had the energy for that. Last night at the campfire most of them looked completely out of it.
Hiking is what the valley is famous for and a major activity for those intripid travellers coming out here like me. At this time of the year just before the first snow the hiking is at its best with the hiking trails nearly deserted of human life.
I take the trail just behind the campground that takes me up the rocks, strenuous and sweaty work but I'm very determined hiking to the top and following the Yosemity Falls Trails.
I hike through one forest after the other surrounded by these incredibly thick and high Pine trees. Steller's Jays aplenty, squirrels and mule deer witnesses to my hiking prowess.
El Capitan and Half Dome towering over me while I breathe in the clean air feeling very relaxed!!!
A cold chicken from the village and a few cans of orange juice my lunch.
At the end of the trail I cross the Yosemity Creek and after some effort manage to find a trail that leads me on to of the rocks paralel to the valley passed the village and to the Indian Canyon Creek.
The vistas of the valley and the village from up here are great but I'm starting to feel sheer exhaustion overcoming me. Too much clean forest iar and hard physical excersize I guess. Following the creek I find a small trail that brings me down to Upper River Campground.
All in all it has been an exhausting but very satisfying day!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.2341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb