17 days to go (if you include today)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Windsor
December 16th 2010
Published: December 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm at home in Windsor, CA still need to get a head lamp for spelunking and late night trips to the hole in the ground!!! Johns packing his Jack Wolfskin backpacking backpack. its a nice bag! I bought a Lowe Alpine. We got them both off of craigslist for $60!!! saved like $400 between the two of us. I had a nice REI that I've used for all of my other trips but the rats ate a whole thru the bottom this winter. I dont know what I left in there but it looked like a really sugary pink coconut concoction. I have a vauge memory of purchasing that treat, involving a chicken bus and some 9 year old Guatemalan boys with no shoes or shirts at a traffic jam.
It's cold here....it's supposed to rain for like 5 days straight starting the day after tomorrow. I lived in Seattle for many years, I used to like the rain. But it seems like that love for rain has become conditional. It has to come in sudden unforseeable downpours in 100 degree muggy weather the hotter the better! When people are complaining it is too hot I'm saying make it hotter! But those sudden warm showers are the best. That kinda rain can come down on my parade anytime. But thats not whats going on here, ITS FREEZING!
Soon that will not be the case however.....soon we will be in Belize! And then Guatemala! We actually fly into Cancun, but I like to leave there as soon as possible. I just dont like Cancun. I just dont like Mexico, no offense, I have good reason.
I not going to narrate my whole trip schedule I will do it on a daily basis when I get there, because frankly we dont have an itenerary. I dont believe in reservations or package tours of any kind. Though if I ever want to completely travel like a ^%&*&^$ ummm I wont get into that.....anyways, I go with the flow when I travel. That doesnt mean I dont plan though. I become an expert on where I'm going before I go. It makes me feel like I'm on the trip before I've even left! Plus I do that even if I'm not traveling somewhere. I actually collect maps and used guidebooks! Anyway, I should be a travel guide updater...but how do you get into that? I dont know. So I'll stick with blogging (this is my first time bloggong!)
Back to the subject, PACKING FOR OUR TRIP! Were trying to find a cheap expensive pop up tent on craigslist and e bay.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb