Sashay to Sherwood


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Adapted from 2009. This is one of my favorite trips each summer. I look forward to my annual summer visit to Ken and Debbie in their southern California home, near Westlake Village and Thousand Oaks. Sherwood Country Club is just a marvelous place. While golf, cards and dining are the focus, we have plenty of time for conversations and table games (Debbie is the queen of table games!). We also plan to see Debbie's partner in crime, Cathy, otherwise known as Bobcat, who is a new grandmother.

This land was purchased by David Murdock of Dole fame, in 1984. And Lake Sherwood, originally known as Potrero Lake, is the oldest man-made lake in California. It was built in 1904 and covers about 165 acres. We have motored on the Lake on a previous trip. They said I was several shades of green, even though the waves are miniscule.

The name of the lake was changed to Lake Sherwood in 1921, when the area was used to film Robin Hood. It starred Douglas Fairbanks, Sr., and the surrounding areas became known as Sherwood Forest. Inside the gates, there is the "Robin Hood Cabin", built for the movie, and rumored to have housed Fairbanks during the filming.

Sherwood Country Club opened in 1989, and has a 22,000-foot clubhouse, a Jack Nicklaus designed championship golf course, along with pools, spas, and tennis courts. Tiger has his charity tournament here in the Fall, called the Target World Challenge. In 2006, a par 3, 18 hole course called "Bear's Best" was added, along with a 14,000-foot clubhouse and fitness center. One of these days, I will have a decent round of golf down here.


The nearby private school, Oaks Christian, is known as the school for the stars' children. This would include Joe Montana's son, as well as the sons of Wil Smith and Wayne Gretzky. In fact, all three boys were on the football team. And Pete Sampras has built a new home and tennis court right behind Ken and Debbie's place.

But I am here, not for the famous address and name. I am here to enjoy the company of Ken and Debbie. It is always the highlight of the summer. They are the best host and hostess, and always have a great program for us. Debbie will play in a big golf tournament while Ken and I will relax, barbecue, visit, play cards, and laugh. It does not get any better than that!




This where Ken and Debbie got married and held their dinner reception. Funny stories, but too many for now. The funniest was Reverend Don, who married them. You had to be there! I am driving down there this year. And I may take my bicycle, still not sure. I also need to sharpen my card skills. And I may stop a few times along the way if I see something interesting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb