We're Baaack!


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It is so good to be home! We got to sleep in our own beds last night, shower with good water pressure, use taps (faucets) that mix the hot and cold for you, and eat Mexican food! Ahhh, the joys of California, haha. We had a great trip but it does make you appreciate home.

Our flight home wasn't bad. Although we were about 40 minutes late on take off due to some dumb ass leaving "unattended baggage" on the plane and not claming it for ages despite repeated announcements by the captain. So they had to start security procedures and remove the baggage from the plane and start searching all the passengers a few rows in front and behind the left baggage. And then finally the dumby realized he'd left his bag in the isle. Ugh. Anyway, the pilot was able to make good time and we landed just after 2pm, so I think that was only about 10 min late.

We sat behind annoying seat recliners again, who liked to recline their seats into our laps so that we could barely see our TV screens. But we did get way better service and food on the flight in than on the way out. This time we got plenty of food and drink, and it was really good! We had beef stew for lunch with white wine and this delicious chocolate moose stuff. Yummy!

Oh and I got singled out to be searched at heathrow this time! It was scarey, I got felt up by an old Arab lady. And they really do feel you EVERYWHERE, it was so disgusting! I feel violated, haha.

Not much else exciting to write about... we got a cab from Hilary's house in Hemel to Heathrow, the driver was really great about getting around all the commute traffic, he knew all the back roads. I think it took about 1.5 hours to get there though. Then we caught BART home from our end and a neighbor picked us up and drove us to my Mom's where we left our truck. Then we got to go pick up the puppies!! Yay. Poor Copper is sooooo emaciated. 😞 He looks like an old horse with his hip bones sticking up out of his back, his spine and ribs are showing and his has sunken spots in the top of his head above his eyeballs. Poor baby. 😞 And his collar was so dirty, yet you can tell (and smell) they gave him a bath. And Bean too. At least Bean did just fine, but I think Copper is just too sensative, he needs that individual attention and someone to cuddle with and make sure he eats. We are going to have to work on fattening him up now. I'm going to go buy some gravy to put on his food or some wet food to add to it.

We get to pick up Boofy and Bobcat today, but I have no worries about either of them, they both had the best of care and I was able to contact them while we were gone. But it will be nice to have the whole crew together again! I just feel bad because I think both Boofy and Bobcat will miss the extra care and attention they've been enjoying while with their sitters, hee hee. 😊

Anyhow, thank you all for your comments and messages! As soon as I get cought up with the pets and house I will continue to finish up my blog from where I left off.

*edit to add* Just weighed Copper. He normally weighs between 65-67 pounds. He now weighs 51!! So he lost around 15 pounds. I am so mad. 😞 I told them to suppliment his food if he wasn't eating but obviously they did not. The interesting thing is, their food container is nearly empty, and they don't eat the whole thing in two weeks even if they do eat all their food. So where did it go? Poor starving Copper. 😞

Advertisement



25th June 2008

Home again!
Thank goodness you are reunited with your boys! Poor Copper, he doesn't need to lose ANY weight! On the subject of the disappearing food, every time I collected George from the Kennels for Jill, they always gave me an almost empty bag of food, even tho Jill said she sent him with enough to last for WEEKS!! Maybe they eat it themselves?? XX

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb