The Daily Dose


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sonoma
August 5th 2013
Published: August 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The Daily Dose
People don’t always have the time or opportunity to get outside every day. That is why I created The Daily Dose. The Daily Dose is just a glimpse into nature, something to keep you in touch with the out of doors until you are able to get out in it yourself.

The Daily Dose may include a story, or, at minimum, a couple beautiful pictures taken on of my local hikes. As you look at each picture, I encourage you to imagine what it might smell like there. Is it redwood forest? Eycalyptus? And then imagine the temperature. Does it look hot? Breezy? Really take a step outside and get your Daily Dose!



HIKE DATE: TODAY - 8-4-13

As I sit at my desk writing, I notice the time. 7:00pm. What time is sunset? A quick check informs me it’s 7:51 which is plenty of time for a walk around the reservoir.

I grab my gear and I’m out the door. It’s a 3 mile drive so it’s mere moments from idea to enjoyment and I love when that happens! The light is perfect. Cutting low through the trees, highlighting all the best features.

It’s bright and gold and I’m so happy to be here!


A couple of people are fishing and I pass a pair of joggers, but otherwise this popular local trail is mine. I see the resident egret of course. Looking elegant as he does. The birds are alive and chattering this time of day. Flying from branch to branch, making a ruckus.


It was cool and breezy on the short trail up, but now I’ve reached the path running around the reservoir the wind has abated and the temperature is perfect. The view of the valley is spectacular! I stand and gaze. There are some clouds hovering just over the horizon, adding drama to the landscape. What an amazing place to be.

Continuing around the lake I see some adorable young ducks. At first there were two, then the third came to join. Huddling together, seemingly trying to decide their next move. Or perhaps simply waiting for mama in the safety of the marshy inlet.

It’s a short trip around, but I’ve seen so much already and the air is crisp and fresh. It feels great to be outside! Near the end of the trail I
stop to watch the horses. Nipping one another, playing chase.

It’s a beautiful world we live in!

I hope you enjoyed this version of The Daily Dose. Please feel free to pass on this blog to your friends and family and enjoy the additional pictures at the bottom.


















Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement






5th August 2013

A bit of quiet peacefulness is good for the soul...thank you

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb