The Daily Dose


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sonoma
August 4th 2013
Published: August 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The Daily Dose

People don’t always have the time or opportunity to get outside every day. That is why I created The Daily Dose. The Daily Dose is just a glimpse into nature, something to keep you in touch with the out of doors until you are able to get out in it yourself.


The Daily Dose may include a story, or, at minimum, a couple beautiful pictures taken on of my local hikes. As you look at each picture, I encourage you to imagine what it might smell like there. Is it redwood forest? Eycalyptus? And then imagine the temperature. Does it look hot? Breezy? Really take a step outside and get your Daily Dose!





I start out at the old Olive Press trailhead. It’s the “least steep” entry into the local hills. I think I’ll at least hike up to the old orchard. It’s not that early but apparently everyone is still getting going, so I find myself alone in the parking lot as I cinch up my boots.

It’s been less than 5 minutes of walking and I notice a couple turkey vultures flying in low, tight circles directly above me. I stop to observe. Round, and gracefully round, they go. I attempt to follow with my camera and manage to get off one shot.

As I pick up my feet to start moving again, I see one of the vultures has parked itself in the tree just in front of me. I walk as quietly as I can so as not to spook the bird. It seems unperturbed by my presence, however, and I get a couple shots.

The vulture is thought to be an ugly scavenger, however, I find some strange attraction to it and believe it somewhat majestic in its own right. I see a second bird has landed on the same tree. A smaller bird, a male.

He’s harder to see in the shade and not as impressive as my female, but I decide to focus on him a moment as well. I frame up a couple pictures of him, and then I am rewarded.

He slowly, almost sensually, starts to unfold his great wings, and then he just stands there. Stoic. Displaying his beautiful wings in all their greatness. Slowly he postures, turning his head from side to side. Keeping his wings fully expanded as he turns. I break from snapping pics to find out what the female makes of all this. She is playing it cool, picking at her feathers, pretending to not really notice him.

He folds into himself, and then once again, slowly unrolls. And stands. It’s as if he’s shouting “Ta Daaa!!” Again he is a statue with his wings spread wide for her admiration. Only moving his head, first one way, then the other. Allowing her all the best views of what he has to offer.

The process is repeated and I would like to watch all day, however, I came out for some exercise and have only walked about 500 feet so I decide to move on. Bidding the beautiful vultures farewell, I continue up the hill.

Not far along the trail I see a pile of feather duff. Uh oh. Looks like someone met their ending here. I keep going. More duff, slight larger feathers. I pick up any worthy ones to use in the creation of my Garden Charms. Larger and larger as I continue on the trail, and then just nothing.

It’s a beautiful day and quite hot.
My long sleeve is on because I tire of the constant pecks and nips from the flies and mosquitos, but soon I’ll need to expose my bare skin to the sun.

Up, up and up until I enter that line in the ridge where the redwoods live. I begin to see more feathers, this time from a blue bird. More duff, more feathers. A busy bird day for me today. Dead and alive.

I walk up the hill and the long way round to drop into the old orchard from the top. The fruit is apparent on the trees, but not quite ripe. Traipsing through a dense section of forest, I hear the unmistakable “chir chir chir” of a squirrel. I stop and look around. “Where are you?” I say out loud and continue looking up into the trees to see if I can locate him . “Chir chir chir” he yells, practically in my ear, and I drop my gaze.

There he is. A cute squirrel peeking round the side of a tree, squeeking at me, just above eye level. I say “hello handsome” and ask permission to take some pictures of him. He immediately responds with more chirping, some foot stomping like they do, then he repositions himself on the edge on a broken branch so I can get the best angle possible.

I thank him and start taking pictures. He is staring right at me, and he’s quite close. He is still and posing so beautifully. I take my time and when I’m satisfied and put my camera away. Only when I turn to thank the squirrel for his time and allowing me to take pictures, does he “chir chir chir” at me one last time then turns on his heels and vanishes.

It’s been an exciting morning already and I’m just now reaching the orchard. The apples are not ripe yet, but the black berries are and I do a little snacking. There’s nothing sweeter than picking fruit from the trail. I’m starting to tire so I decide to make this the apex of my loop.

As I head across the orchard, I hear some rustling in the brush. Turning I see a gaggle of young turkeys making their way to safety, away from the stomping of my human boots. I spy on them with my lens as they venture into denser forest.


My way down the hill is uneventful but I revel in the texture and color of everything I see. The leaves on the ground, the twisted gnarl of a stump. The “pieces of paper” bark lying on the ground. It’s all so vibrant and alive! I breathe deep of the fresh air and am so thankful for this opportunity to be Outside.

Thank you and I hope you enjoy the first edition of The Daily Dose !


(Please click the "Photos" button below to view all pictures from today's hike.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement





4th August 2013

thankyou for the dose!
5th August 2013

Hi MIchele,
Enjoyed the narrative of your morning walk. You certainly enjoy nature and do a great job of sharing it with us.
6th August 2013

Thanks!
Thank you Uncle Jack - Love you both tons!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb