Day 3 (Moro Rock and General Sherman = WOW)


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bear canBear canBear can

Special trash cans to keep bears out
Oh man what a long and amazing day! Today we started off on the Sherman Tree trail. General Sherman Tree is the largest tree in the world, meaning that it is not the tallest or widest, but its combination of height and width gives it the most density than any other tree in the world, this shit was super huge. It was taller than the statue of liberty and weighes more than 10 blue whales. After we checked out the tree we took a quick pit stop back at the lodge and while my dad took a power nap, mother and I went exploring on a trail behind our room. After that, we headed over to Moro Rock, and it really is an understatement to say the view from here was one of the most amazing things I’ve seen in my life. We drove up to the base of the mountain and took a 400 step (300 foot) path to the top. Now, I’ve seen beautiful coral reefs, the Northern Lights in Alaska, and many things in between, but pictures truly could not capture what we saw. The rock is a huge piece of granite in the middle of Sequoia valley.
TrailheadTrailheadTrailhead

Mom and dad!
On one side you can see a huge mountain range that separates California from Nevada, and the other, a 6,000 foot drop down into Sequoia valley that stretched for miles and miles. It’s honestly one of the craziest things I’ve seen in my life. I hope the pictures can do it some justice. On a completely different note, on the way down I noticed an older gentleman laying on the ground with some people trying to help me. I walked up and told them to stand back, the medical safety team was there! Lol, not really, but I told them a Physician, Nurse, and EMT were there, and we helped him. Turns out the guy was just old and tried to climb the stairs too fast and fainted from his blood pressure dropping because you know, we were about 6000 feet above sea level. Pretty cool though cuz afterward we took a group picture with his family and the park rangers because everyone thought we were the shit, nice. After Moro rock we grabbed dinner and just came back to relax. I didn’t get a chance to upload anything online because I had about 150 pictures to sort though, edit,
ChipmonkChipmonkChipmonk

Striking a pose for me
and stitch together, so that will all go up tomorrow. Tomorrow is also a travel a day, and we have about 6 hours to drive. I’ll probably finish the Road and get a lot of my EMT studying done. Hopefully I get to do some driving too. Until then, see you all later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Actual size of the trunkActual size of the trunk
Actual size of the trunk

Dad is standing in the middle of a model of General Sherman's Trunk
General ShermanGeneral Sherman
General Sherman

We look so tiny compared to the largest tree in the world
PuddlePuddle
Puddle

A neat puddle i found
MeditationMeditation
Meditation

Why can't this be in my backyard?
Another great signAnother great sign
Another great sign

hilarious! but important
The famThe fam
The fam

Posing in front of the great divide
BreatakingBreataking
Breataking

Pictures really couldn't capture this, but amazing none the less.
Medical team Ceci to the rescue!Medical team Ceci to the rescue!
Medical team Ceci to the rescue!

Doctor, nurse, and EMT putting their skills to the test for the good of the people! haha


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb