Day 2 (Tokopah River Trail)


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sequoia National Park

Not all of the towns or roads are labeled here, but we were all around this area.


High Up!High Up!High Up!

High in the mountains oxygen is low so you get more tired faster, but you also get drunker more easily!
Alright so this morning while my Mom was doing complamentary yoga (yikes), my father and I drove down to the visitor center near our lodge to check out some hikes in the area. We gathered our reconnaissance and went back to mother with all of the info. We settled on a trail called the Tokopah Valley trail, which was 1.7 miles there and back traveling around the Tokopah river and ending near a waterfall, sounded pretty sweet. I can’t find a map of it online so take my word for it. The trail was amazing, it literally went through the valley and we had breathtaking views of the river, along with the surrounding mountains and forest. Unfortunately, the trail seemed a little father than 1.7, and my dad and mom had to back out of the last .3 miles or so because my dad has a bad knee. They got to see the waterfall but did not get to get close to it (like I did). They headed back while I went for a swim in the middle of a gorge at the bottom of a 500 foot water fall 😊. We met up back at the visitors center, and after
Sun BathingSun BathingSun Bathing

A little R&R before the hike
having a quick R&R period we headed out to a small stop about 20 min from our lodge for pizza. I swear to God that Dane Cook was there, but after examining his Twitter page, it looks like it wasn’t him 😞 oh well! On the way home we stopped for an amazing view of the valleys below (what views here arn’t amazing?) and I got some cool pictures. Now I am relaxing with nice beer in the lodge and writing all this down! Tomorrow we will be hiking to the largest tree in the world and on top of a giant piece of granite! Night everyone. Haha its only 9 PM here! Suck it east coast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

DirtyDirty
Dirty

A little fun I had with a car :)
ParentsParents
Parents

Scenic Pose!
SignsSigns
Signs

All these warning signs were outrageous
Old!Old!
Old!

Hold old is this tree? At least 900
Small WaterfallSmall Waterfall
Small Waterfall

Only a tease of what was about to come.
Macro ModeMacro Mode
Macro Mode

I love my camera :)
Tokopah FallsTokopah Falls
Tokopah Falls

A nice man took my picture!
Bottom of the fallsBottom of the falls
Bottom of the falls

At the pool at the bottom. I took a swim.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb