A Dose of Outside


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Santa Rosa
August 24th 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

A Dose of Outside
A Dose of Outside is intended to share a bit of nature with you as experienced on my local hikes and other adventures. Take a moment to look out the window or step outside and see what it is you see. What you smell. Notice what’s growing around you. Use all your senses and really get A Dose of Outside!






HIKE DATE: Today. Anadel State Park, Santa Rosa

This morning I’m heading to Leedson Marsh via the Schulz trailhead. The trailhead is off of Lawndale in southern Santa Rosa, off highway twlve. There are only about 5 parking spots for smaller vehicles at this trailhead, so best to go midweek and/or early.

Today is going to be a longer hike if I have my way. I started packing my things, not entirely sure which route or how long I would hike, but wanting to be prepared for anything so I shape the day according to my whim.

The trailhead is quiet and I fold my car mirror in and cozy right up against the fence. The street here is narrow and you must park 6 feet from the center of the road. It’s been about 2 years since I’ve been on this trail so I’m looking forward to it!

Dang it, I forgot my hat. Unbelievable. Well, it’s really foggy so maybe I can get through my walk and be out before the sun clears it. It’s only 7:15a.m so I should be good.

Going through the gate the trail passes
by a couple houses, then drops you right into the middle of a lush forest. As I go along, I notice how gentle the inclines are on this trail. I’m going uphill, but the switchbacks are long and very gradual. It’s a nice change and probably one of the more “flat” hikes in Sonoma.

Everything is silent except for the birds and the tick tick of my trekking poles. A woodpecker is busy making holes but everyone else seems to be snoozing. I see evidence of heavy mountain bike use on this trail so I’ll need to stay alert.

I’m a couple miles in and the trail widens. Up ahead I see two dark wet spots. That’s weird. I don’t know what could have spilled way out here, and in such great quantity.

I approach the first dark spot curious to see what this is. Um. . . well, it appears to be raining but only right here. I look up and see a canopy of trees so even if it was raining, which it is – right here, the water shouldn’t get through. It’s not raining anywhere else however. If I step one foot to the
side I’m back out of the rain and the ground is bone dry.

Clearly something unique is transpiring. Keeping quiet elsewhere, the squirrels here are loud and making frantic noises. I decide I should let some of this special water wash over me so I stand in the rain for a minute and soak it up. I head out and stop to look back. I realize I’ll never know what that was, but some of the best things in life remain unexplained.

It’s a left onto Pig Flat trail and another .5 miles to Leedson Marsh. The fog is so thick I can’t see much beyond the trees. Once I crest the hill, the landscape looks two-tone and I can’t even see the marsh. Normally Leedson’s backdrop makes for a magnificent setting, but today I see only cattails and white.

I walk right down to the marsh and still can’t see much. I head back and break out my map and decide upon a route. I’m going to head around the marsh and back via Ridge Trail, which will make my total journey around 9.5 miles.

There are blackberries right along the side of the trial.
I’m surprised as usually the easily accessible ones are eaten. I eat and they are sweet and delicious! I hear a noise in the bushes. I hold still, figuring if I wait perhaps I’ll see whatever it is.

I hear the noise again and think I can determine its location, but I still see nothing. There! It’s a large buck eating his morning meal and he’s pretty close. I’d can’t see through the thicket and want to get a closer look.

I pick up my poles to quiet my approach, and start to very slowly and carefully walk back the way I came. He hears me and looks up. I freeze. After a few seconds his attention is once again returned to his meal.

I ease on, one hopeful silent step at a time. Again he hears me and looks up. I freeze. It reminds me of the child’s game when one person freezes everyone else has to stop as well. I hold perfectly still making sure to avert my eyes. Deer seem to be less fearful if they don’t see your eyes. He puts his head down again to eat.

I notice I’m gripping my
poles tightly in my effort to stay quiet. I relax my grip and creep forward, I’m almost around the brush pile and if I make it without startling him, I’ll have a full view from about 15 feet away.

Incredibly he hasn’t noticed me and I get off a couple shots (being photos). Finally he swings his head up and stares right at me. Again I freeze, camera in hand pointed right at him. We hold this position for maybe 30 seconds and I’m sure he’s going to bolt. I don’t move and eventually he just puts his head back down and continues munching. After another minute I turn and quietly move on down the trail and let him enjoy his morning in peace.

A bit down trail I hear voices in the distance. When I approach I see a couple men on their mountain bikes. My first people encounter of the day, not bad for this park.

I round the marsh and it’s eerie. I hear activity in the form of bustling birds in the thickets, but I can see very little.

After a mile or so I see a sharp turn to the left,
heading straight up a steep hill. This trail is unmarked, as are many trails in this park. I don’t know this park like the back of my hand, but I do have a good sense of direction so I head up.

Once up the hill it dead ends at a T. Left or right. Hmm. . . . I hear sound and turn to see the two mountain bikers making their way up the hill towards me. Once they reach the top we say good morning. They turn right and I turn left.

I’m not sure where this trail goes, but the direction it’s heading should tie into the trail that I want to be on, eventually. I may have forgotten my hat today, but I did bring enough food for an overnight. I’m not sure if I thought I was going to be uncharacteristically hungry, but if I happen to make new friends on the trail today I’ll have enough to share.

The trail is pleasant and meaders this way and that, changing directions dramatically, making me think I’m double back to Leedson Marsh. I really don’t have any idea where I am, but know which
direction by sight I need to be.

Eventually I reach a picnic table and trail marker. Ridge Trail! Right where I need to be. I sit for a few minutes and enjoy my lunch. I don’t think it’s lunch time yet, but getting an early start has made me hungry now.

A lone cyclist passes by, we nod and then he’s enveloped into the fog at the next turn. I hang for a few more minutes, then button up my back and start out. There are a couple faint hints of blue in the sky so I’m thinking it’s going to be hot and sunny soon. And I don’t have a hat. Oh well.

I like a hat to obviously keep the sun off my head and help shade my eyes from the sun, when there is sun. But it also serves as a protector of my head from things that like to drop from the trees and bushes. Also, the rim acts, however minutely, to catch the spider webs as I encounter them across the trail.

One certainty when you’re the first, or earliest person on the trail, is catching all the webs. It’s been
fairly constant on this hike and so far I’ve taken many in the face, one in the eye, the throat, and even the mouth.

Around a few more bends and now the sun is out. I reach for my sunglasses, and apparently I left them with my hat. I believe the majority of the remainder of my hike will be shaded so it’s all good.

I get a view of Leedson marsh from up above with a visible sky. It’s pretty! From this vantage point Gunsight rock serves as the backdrop, framed by multi colored oaks. Gunsight rock is another popular hike and backpack training route due to it’s “all up” then “all down” nature.

Round another bend I get a different view. I can’t tell which way the trail is going, but I can tell that whichever way it is, I’m going to be exposed in full sun.

I step out of the shade and into the light. It’s hot already and I don’t mind except the trail is heading steadily in one direction which means all the sun is beating on just one side of my face. I feel my ear start to heat up and I’m kicking myself for forgetting my hat.

It’s not too long and the direction changes then soon enough I’m back in the trees. Ahhh. . . The fog is nearly lifted save for some remaining ruffles, like a bed skirt around the lower region of the peaks in the distance.

I make my way back down the hill having only encountered a couple of gals on horseback. I hear a noise and turn to see a family of turkeys, rustling around in the brush. I snap a couple pictures then move on.

Literally a couple steps later I hear more noise and turn to see another young buck in the woods off trail. He freezes so I freeze. Here we go again. This one isn’t as close so I don’t spend as much time playing our little game.

Incredibly just a few steps further I hear more sound, another large family of turkeys on the other side of the trail. Boy, the joint is jumping! Everyone is starting to wake up.

I decide to take what I believe to be a shortcut down a steep slope with great views
of the Lawndale area. Breathing in deep I let out a sound of satisfaction. That smell is like heaven and I know it well! It’s a flowering weed, one I first encountered in the Santa Cruz Mountains with a friend over 20 years ago.

It has a smell like honey and when dried the smell is strong and fragrant for many, many years. I pick a few and put them in my pocket.

Further down trail I hear something so I stop, wondering what it is this time. Oh. The unmistakable sound of pedals turning. I guess the people world is also waking up. I step to the side and let him pass.

Only 1 minute later I hear someone blazing a trail downhill on a bike, sounding like they are traveling at great speed. I step a few feet off the trail to give them plenty of room to make the corner.

Wow! She’s flying. She slows a little for the corner, and when she’s right in front of me I say hello. She stops. “I didn’t even see you there, you blend right in!” I told her I was in disguise. She said that everything just goes by so fast when you’re mountain biking you don’t see stuff. Exactly, is what I’m thinking. That’s why I enjoy hiking!



Please feel free to share this blog with anyone you feel might enjoy it.

(There are usually additional photos at the bottom of this post as well.)

This blog will be published frequently and on an irregular schedule. Below is the link to my jewelry website featuring one-of-a-kind designs as well as tons of free photography downloads from other adventures!
www.chellesjewelry.org




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 30


Advertisement












Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb