Holidays With My Family...Back in Cali, Regrouping


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Santa Rosa
April 17th 2012
Published: April 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

We Three Taste Testers Are ReadyWe Three Taste Testers Are ReadyWe Three Taste Testers Are Ready

My brother, father and yours truly about to dig in to a family favorite dessert. It's at least 150 layers of heart attack in the making but boy is it ever tasty. Thanks mom, you're the best!
Spending Christmas and New Years with family was relaxing and just what the doctor ordered. It was an enjoyable time had by all, and my first holiday period back in Cali since I left over five years ago. I bought myself a new laptop and Santa brought me a new iPod Touch. Good times.



We cooked, we ate, we ate, we cooked. I didn't exercise. I put on weight but I didn't care. I love the wholesome goodness my folks' know how to bring to the table. I feel fortunate I grew up in a family wth parents who knew (and still do..) how to cook and cook well.



On a gloriously blue-skied day in January, my mom, my brother and I spent some time at "our" beach, Bodega Bay, somewhere I hadn't been in years. We stopped at the taffy place where my bother and I reminisced on all the old candy brands we knew as kids. We filled our day walking along the sand, exploring the jetty (another kid thing we often did..), taking short hikes, cruising up and down the coastline and stopping for delicious sandwiches before our 45 minute drive back to Santa Rosa. It was a perfect day.



I was so busy writing, editing photos, spending time with family and friends, and doing my part with house and yard work, I just couldn't get it together to leave. I finally settled on a date and in the middle of April I set out once again, relaxed and happy and ready to explore a new part of the world. My tummy was ready for a new cuisine so I booked a one way ticket on a budget airline and set off for Mexico.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



17th April 2016

Beautiful Pacific Ocean scenes
Loved your pics of family spending time together, friend and hugs, plus nameless dog. The scenes of the Pacific coastline never get old viewing....lovely, even in January. ,........... Dolores
18th April 2016

Thanks, Dolores
It was a lovely time spent with family...but oh so long ago now! :-)

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb