Ambushed!!!!


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

My last trip to GuatemalaMy last trip to GuatemalaMy last trip to Guatemala

This was my wonderful trip to Lake Atitilan
The attacker struck me from behind. Startled and stunned my breath left me. Three quick blows to the head and shoulders. Then nothing. Quiet.

I felt no pain. I blushed when I realized I was standing in my tiny bedroom closet and the shoes I had just thrown up to the highest, bulging shelf had fallen back down and pummeled me on the head as I turned to leave. Dangerous shoes were my assailant.

My house is small by Bay Area standards. I like it that way. Less to take care of. But sometimes small means no place to store things. So I stuff. Literally. And then my closets attack me.

Stuff. That’s my current issue.

How much stuff will I need for 8 weeks?

Will I bring the “right stuff”?

How in the heck will I be able to carry all that stuff?

Every piece of clothing I have worn in the last three weeks is clean and folded and in my living room waiting to be chosen to go to Guatemala. It occurs to me that anything left in the closets should immediately be given to Good Will.

My beloved Christ, walked on the earth wearing only a robe. He journeyed only with friends. There no mention of a donkey packed full of luggage carrying 30 different colored robes, the right shampoo, special oils and extra shoes.He trusted the “stuff” he needed would be there when he needed it. And it was.

In the end, he died without any stuff. And still he moved the world.

I hear My Beloved whisper that I should follow his example. Let go of my favorite stuff. Oh, that’s scary!

I bargain with him. If it doesn’t fit in one of two soft-sided carry-ons and one HUGE purse. (I’m finally in style) it won’t go with me.

Hurray, FREEDOM FROM STUFF!

And safety from closet attacks.

Advertisement



1st May 2009

Go girl!
Good luck with the "stuff" reduction. You can do it. Then you can tell me how good it feels. Then maybe I'll join in. Someone said we only wear 30% of the clothes in our closet. The other 70% are waiting for a miracle!
3rd May 2009

your on a good path
it sounds like every thing you are doing is on a good spiritual path. i admire your courage and only wish i had that courage! my personal and finacial situation is different. i will be visiting guatemala for the last week in may and am sooo excited. i know 1 week is not really enough. i am a member of AA also and found a hugh list of meetings all over guat. i hope to catch one or two. enjoy your adventure. peace

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb