Voices in my head tell me NO.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Jose
September 30th 2006
Published: September 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I decided to start this little travel blog to give you a glimpse into my trip/vacation to South America. It is also meant as a journal for future reflections as a crazy man. I leave for Argentina on Saturday, September 30. You ask why Argentina?? Well, one reason is the flight cost. It's hard to pass up when you can get there cheap. What's in Argentina?? I really don't know. The few things I know about Argentina is that it is the home land of Maradona. You know the famous soccer player who committed the "Hand of god" goal. And of the course the land of Eva Peron. Madonna played her in the movie "Evita."

Beyond that limited knowledge, it's a place that speak spanish. Which of course I don't speak at all. I don't think anyone there will understand Spanean (spanish with a heavy korean accent). Nevertheless it will be fun to confuse them. Maybe I will trick them to thinking I am from Peru (Peru, for some odd reason has a good population of asian. Maybe it's because it only has two syllables and "r" is an easy letter to sound out. "L" gives asian the fits.)

The next 9 days and 8 nights will be an epic adventure for me. I am excited about all the random things that probably will happen.

Maybe I will be tango dancing with a lovely Argentine woman I meet at a tango club. She might 5' 8" stocky asian man SEXY. Our eyes will meet in a smokey dance floor and I will wave her over with my index finger. Selma and I will dance throughout the night to Ricky Martin. We will then fall in love......

Or I may be ice climbing on some random glacier in Patagonia wondering if I will regain feeling in my fingers.

Gorge myself with food. I will regain the 15 pounds I lost for my triathlon in september. I heard there are no such things as vegetable is Argentina. Meat and coffee 24 hours a day.

Maybe I will ride a local bus for 20 hours to a destination that leaves me witht the thought,
"I endured hours on a bus, 10 marriage proposals to wed their underage daughters, sat on a stranger lap...who only smiled and stared at me, and had to play rock/paper/scissors with local farmer crate of chickens to win a seat FOR THIS." I might even use some choice words.

Or I could be the ignorant tourist who goes to the national Argentine soccer team Boca Juniors game wearing the wrong team color. I feel if this happens...all you can do is pray. Pray hard. I may even wish to be stuck on a glacier at this point.

So let the adventure begin. Whatever happens, I will come back a changed man and the voices in my head will still be there. I will try to update this travel blog daily. Photos will also be provided to give a great visual image of what I see.

Advertisement



30th September 2006

watch out
I am going to call my friend who has family in Argetina, and warn them about the crazy korean descending upon them.
30th September 2006

You have so many issues...
Don't cause an international incident! And hello from Guatemala!
30th September 2006

What to do when the voices start disagreeing...
James -- thanks for the blog entry. Have a great, great time in Argentina!
2nd October 2006

Way to go James!
I want to go!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb