Welcome to The US of A


Advertisement
Published: June 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Do you know the way to San Jose?


June 3rd 2009

Fond farewells
What a couple of weeks! It is unbelievable that everything went so swimmingly and to plan. Thanks to everyone for all my send-offs, and for taking all the leftovers from Saturday's BBQ!! Portion-size clearly isn't my speciality. After a lovely, mad dash to Edinburgh on Sunday, I finally finished packing, tidied the house and at long last hopped on the plane to San Francisco on Monday afternoon. The 11-hour flight was unremarkable - certainly not the epic 24-hour voyage to Sydney I made in January! Sat next to a tall, strapping Irish man, I was, however, reminded of the joys of being petite. The poor guy just couldn't get comfortable. Me? I slipped into my pyjamas, put on the headphones and caught up on a few movies. There are much worse ways to spend a Monday afternoon 😊

Do you have cars in England?
I am now installed in Milpitas with Auntie Shirley and Uncle Cliff for a few days while I sort out fun stuff like banks accounts, cell phones and, most importantly, a car. Opening a bank account was amusing. The bank clerk asked which part of London I was from (why do people assume all English people come from London?) as he is an avid Chelsea supporter. After a brief discussion about football, the conversation turned to the issue of traffic: he was curious to know if we have cars in England; he'd heard we don't. Ah, the joys of travelling.

A Chinese man called Julio
Yesterday afternoon Auntie Shirley and I checked out some cars. I'll come back to that later. Far more interesting were the salesmen we met along the way. First, Greg, from the East Coast. An art photographer who has visited and captured every US state on camera. Now a car salesman. Then Julio - a Chinese man from Taiwan. Julio?? Not your regular Chinese name, I'm sure. But I could be wrong. Finally, Sam. His family is from South East Asia, but he was adopted by a British journalist during 'the war' (I presume the Vietnam War?) and grew up in Florence, Italy. His mother adopted him back at some point because the journalist didn't take great care of him. Still, he continues to visit said journalist in Oxford. People's lives are just fascinating!

Driving Miss Holly
Now, you'd think I'd never been to the States before considering how I excited I get about drive-thrus. Had drive-thru tacos for lunch. Scrumptious. And thinking of all the other food you can get here - rootbeer floats, cream soda, chili dogs, corn dogs, good frozen yoghurt, twinkies, grape juice (although you can now get that sometimes in England) to name just a few - just makes my head spin. Every meal is going to be a mighty adventure into junkfood heaven.

Went back to visit Sam today, and bought a car from him! Auntie Shirley and I hope that selling a car will please his wife. She was real mad with him for forgetting to pick the children up from school. Collecting the car today; pictures to follow shortly. Have already been out driving with Uncle Cliff. Brave man. Apart from a moment of sheer panic when three sheriffs cars pulled up behind me (gulp), it all went smoothly. Looks like the American people will be safe with me on the roads. Alex, you will be too 😊










Advertisement



4th June 2009

So good to hear from you!
Hey Jenny It's so good to hear from you! have been thinking of you all week. Particularly the thought that whilst I'm trudging to work every day in the same old routine, you've been doing exciting things all the way over in Amerikee (like drive-thru tacos - who'd have thought of such a thing... Surprising both in concept, and in how they spell 'through'...)! Really great to hear how you're doing and looking forward to many more updates. Take care lovely Gemma x
4th June 2009

Drive-Thru...
Drive-Tru Banks... Drive-Thru pharmacies... Drive-Thru Krispy Kremes, Drive-Thru Starbucks. Americans really love their cars. How many cup holders does your car have?
4th June 2009

Ah but will they be safe with me on the road?! I am watching your blog entries like a hawk to detect any emergence of Americanisms. Have already spottted 'real mad' bu I can't swear you don't already say that. Julio sounds hilarious. Have you got photos of your car?
4th June 2009

Cup holders
Will definitely have to do a drive-thru pharmacy. Just for fun. two cup holders. I'll send pictures.
4th June 2009

Americanisms
I probably already said 'real mad'. I will try and hold on to my English accent. The guy at the car service place yesterday 'dug' my accent, saving me a few dollars. Didn't work so well on the not-so-nice car salesman who I had to negotiate prices with though. I am picking up the car today, will send photos soon. But more importantly, I need a name. I think it's a boy, but for some reason I want to call him Betty. Maybe he's a transsexual?
4th June 2009

Rootbeer Floats!
Oh, how I long for a rootbeer float - it's been so long since I had one. When we were in Canada in 2007, I ate Reuben sandwiches and drank iced tea for three weeks. How I'd lived without them, I don't know. Glad to hear that everything is going to plan, and that you even have a car now. You're quite amazing, and so organized. Just like your aunt. Enjoy the scenery, particularly between LA and 'Frisco - the Monterey peninsula area. I also know people who live in Turlock, in the Napa Valley. xox
4th June 2009

All that food!
Did you pack your running shoes?! It's not just all that 'junk', it's the portion sizes that are the killer. I'm still in very slow recovery from our 5 weeks 'out West' last autumn. Sounds as though you've settled into California living pretty quickly - must be something to do with the birth certificate! UB's mother was asked, when she was visiting Vancouver, if we had electricity yet in England!! Glad your outward bound trip went smoothly. Enjoy to the full. xoxo
4th June 2009

Keep safe
Glad to hear that you are driving with Uncle Cliff for a while before you go solo again. You didn't say what colour (or should that be color?) your car is.If it's red it should be called something like Lucifer...you'll have the Devil's own delights driving around USA!! Keep safe! xxx
4th June 2009

Ahoj
nur so weiter Mysicka! I am glad you are doing well and am looking forward to read more!
5th June 2009

Blog!
Great to hear that you are having such a good time. Really impressed with your blog. Looking forward to seeing your photos. Hang on to that accent! Pat x
9th June 2009

keep well
heh jen.......... wow what a start, did you have a nice chat with the Irishman on flight??? all is well this side of the world ,,, same old ********8 london underground on strike for two days so should be fun trying to get to work ......... enjoy the driving and looking forward to the next blog. love bernie xxx
9th June 2009

Traveling?!
Isn't traveling great?! Haven't gone too far just yet but simply enjoying being away from England for a while, and somewhere sunny!! Enjoy the rest of your trip - when are you planning on going home? Is that in your plan at all??!
11th June 2009

Glad to hear you are well and happy. Would love more details, such as what kind of car, where you've been, what's Frisco like, etc. All is well here, still rainy with cloudy/sunny periods. The excitement today is taking rubbish to the tip and then walking the dog, between showers. Looking forward to chatting with you when you get to Tacoma. lots of love xox

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb