Getting ready


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Maidenhead
May 25th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

USA 2009


May 25th 2009

A week to go
This is a travel blog, but I'm still at home. This time in a week I will probably be in exactly the same place - sitting in bed contemplating the trip I am about to embark upon. Can't quite believe I am actually going away. It's been a few years since I left England for more than a couple of weeks 😊.

So what's the plan
Anyone who knows me, knows there is a plan. The planning is almost as exciting as the doing! There should be a map on this page somewhere showing you where I am planning to go. I'm travelling West to East, via the North and the South. Flying into San Francisco on June 1st, New York - and the city's marathon - is my final destination on November 1st. The map reckons it's about 7,000 miles. It should take 5 months. But seeing as life rarely goes to plan, who knows where I'll end up, or how long it will take 😱.

But first things first...
I have to finish packing. Some things are already winging their way to California. But the rest is decorating my bedroom floor, and the dining room, and the kitchen, the conservatory. Hmmmm....best get up then.




Advertisement



26th May 2009

Map
Jen your map is fantastically helpful. I hope I am not alone in having an absolutely terrible sense of North American geography. And all geography come to that. But I'd like to know what Kansas and Missouri have done to offend you- you are narrowly passing by but snubbing them with your non-attendance.
28th May 2009

Getting ready
Er, um, so many states, so little time? Had to cut a few. My mom always said Kansas was very boring. How's that for a reason? As for Missouri, it was actually on the itinerary for a while, and could go back on. Have an acquaintance there. :-)
29th May 2009

so jealous...
Seeing your trip laid out on a map makes it seem more real, and makes me even more jealous!! I know you will have a fantastic time and I look forward to reading your blog updates and seeing your (no doubt very numerous) photos! We will do our best to give you a proper send-off tonight... it could be your last drink for a while as I think you might have trouble convincing the various purveyors of alcohol in the States that you are indeed over 21!! ;-)
31st May 2009

And she's off ...
Wow Jen looks fab soooo jealous!! Have a fabby time we will miss you but no doubt you will remember our little challenge in every state you visit!!! Haha. Travel safe, have fun and enjoy the ride! Lots of love jude xxx
1st June 2009

Bon voyage!
The time has come and I think you're already winging your way across the ocean. Have a fab time and keep us all jealous with your blog!
2nd June 2009

How was the journey?
Hello Jenny-bear! How was the trip? How is the jet-lag? I looked at your map, and was surprised to see how much of the journey is in the southern States. Looking forward to your first message from California. lots of love.
3rd June 2009

Howdee
Hi Jennifer - are you getting over your jet lag (although is there that much if you fly west??). Have a lovely relaxing time for a day or two before your next challenge of driving on the freeways! Good luck, your guardian angels will be looking after you. With love, Catherine xx

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb