Silicon Valley


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Jose
March 12th 2009
Published: March 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Before returning to India, we made a stop in Northern California where most of my direct family lives. We visited my mother Margaret for a few days in San Jose where she lives with her roommate Debbie.

My sister Peggy also lives in San Jose with her boyfriend Ray and her son’s Frank and Joe. Peggy gave a Saint Patrick’s Day party to celebrate our visit and she invited our family and many friends from childhood. My sister Jenny showed up with her husband Dave and her son Keagan. My father Dave showed up with his wife Jan and his grand-daughter Torrie. Friends from my childhood that stopped by included Tony, Tracy, Laura, Debbie and Sean, among others.

My mom, Jenny, Kim and I drove up to San Francisco for the day to go sight seeing. My sister Jenny also drove us up to her house in Boulder Creek for a few days and over to Santa Cruz to show Kim around that part of California. Jenny and her husband Dave took us out for a game of pool at a dive bar in Boulder Creek.

My sister Peggy is an executive at Cisco and she showed us around a few of the workspaces that her internal group designed and built. The workspaces hold about 1200 Cisco engineers--an incredible state of the art facility. Doug, who is one of my good real estate friends from the 80s and who is now a real estate commercial leasing agent with Grubb and Ellis, was able to join us for the Cisco facilities tour.

Before leaving California, we also made a final determination that my mom’s cat is a better cat than either of my sister Kath’s cats.

It was great seeing everyone after being away for 2 years.



Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb