Winter Winds In Silicon Valley


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Jose
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In January of 2008, a strong windstorm hit Northern California and parts of Nevada. It was the first time I have worked from home. It was a fun experience and wonderful to be able to walk into the next room to work. I haven't been able to do that since 2002. Which was the last time I worked from home! The claims from this storm were unique in that they mostly consisted of condo associations with large amounts of buildings in each association. I have never seen the kind of wind damage outside of a tornado or hurricane. It was amazing to see that amount of damage in California! This storm had me traveling up to the very northern coast of California, into the huge Redwood forests near the Oregon border, all the way over the Carson City, Nevada and all around Silicon Valley. It was a very fun storm to work since my clients knew I was local. The drive to Carson City was amazing I got to see a wonderful sunrise on Hwy 50. The claim in Northern California allowed me to visit and drive through the redwood forests which I have never done before. I got to see an elk up close and personal (well from my car anyway). I got to sit on a roof in the hills above San Francisco and watch the city from a distance. I got to spend some time in Livermore seeing the sights and sounds of the town early in the morning. I got to see a beautiful sunset coming back to the Bay Area from Sacramento along 580. This storm was precious to me for the people as well as the experience! It was fun to be able to work and still maintain my life at the same time. It is a rare thing when those come together for me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb