Seattle Storm


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In December of 2006 just as Kurt was getting ready to move to Los Angeles with his company, my company called to tell me they had work from me in Seattle. I was ready to go although most of my work equipment was in the RV which I had stashed in Florida for the duration after Katrina. I was very excited to be heading to Seattle because one of my oldest friends lives there and had just had a son with his partner. So not only was I getting work, but I was going to be able to see his son, and of course spend time with an old friend.

The drive to Seattle while a quick trip was a bit of a challenge as Interstate 5 in the winter through Oregon can be hairy! But I survived the trip as did Q-Tip. We got there and started working on the claims. It was a tough storm because so much of the damage was caused by the power company not being prepared for a disaster and allowing their customers commercial and residential alike to go for days without power. I enjoyed being in Seattle and got to see my friend and his son and partner a few times while I was there. Most noteably New Years that year! It was a fun time even if we all ended up crashing before midnight. I spent Christmas with even older family friends who live in Portland, OR. They had new puppies to play with. In the end my stay ended up being quite a bit longer because there was a snow storm in the middle of it all which caused some additional damage. The highlight of the trip was my drive up the coast to visit a claim in southern Oregon! It was amazing and the snow on the ground everywhere added to the magical nature of the trip. And then there was the day trip up to Anacortes where right at dusk I was lucky enough to see a bald eagle flying low to the ground in front of me with a rabbit clutched in its claws. They are majestic!

My drive home was disappointing because I was hoping to see a friend from college who now lives in Sacramento, but the timing of it all didn't work out and so I didn't get to see him.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb