Day 9 - San Francisco, California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
September 20th 2011
Published: September 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I awoke as we arrived into Sacramento. We shortly transferred from here to the San Francisco bus - and the driver seemed very unpleasant. I avoided talking to him at all costs.

Then we arrived into San Francisco at 9:35am. I was in a new place. Yet a familiar one. I've seen this place in the movies, lots of times, and I can see the Golden Gate Bridge in all it's glory.

I'm meant to be staying with John today, a guy I met through couchsurfing. This would be my first experience with it. John had told me that he would finish work at 5:30pm, so I had until then to look around.

I took a pretty long walk, with my luggage behind me too. San Francisco is huge!

I sat down at Starbucks for a little while to access the internet, and had a bite. After that, it was what seemed like endless walking up and down the steep streets of the city. It was tiresome. Especially the "crookedest" street, called Lombard, which I managed to find by accident.

I continued to walk around, through Chinatown and the pier area, until I reached John's area. I waited outside for him to arrive and we greeted. He showed me into his apartment.

It was small and looked cosy; I had a floor mattress for me. John and I exchanged conversation, he let me shower, relax, and then I went to have some pizza for dinner. I slept early as I needed it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb