San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I finally was able to get back to my favorite activity-Traveling! My Aunt Char needed California to get her 50 states before 50, so we headed off to San Fran. Thursday, we headed first to Coit Tower for some amazing views of the city. It didn't take long to realize that we were going to have to climb those monstrous hills all weekend. But, the view from the tower was worth it. Then we headed to Pier 39 to watch the street performers, eat a sourdough bowl of chowder, and watch the sea lions. An Irish pub was across the street from the hotel, so Char and I claimed it as "our" bar for the weekend. There always seems to be an irish bar in my life!
Friday morning we headed back to the Pier to go to Alcatraz. We went through the audio tour, saw Al Capone's cell, and got to go into an isolation cell. Let's just say I was more than happy to walk out a few seconds later. After the tour, we walked back to Fisherman's Wharf and had lunch overlooking the bay. We did a little wine tasting in Ghiralldi Square then headed up Russian Hill to Lombard Street - "the crookedest street in the world". We ate in North Beach- "little italy"- the italian food was amazing. I couldn't quit eating! We had tickets to "Beach Blanket Bablyon" at Club Fugazi. It was the best show I had ever seen.
Saturday we headed to the Golden Gate Park. We went to the Art Museum and the Japanese Tea Gardens. We ate and shopped in Haight-Ashbury neighborhood. I got on the bus in 2007 and got dropped off in the '70's! One of kind place. Wish they would've had an outdoor cafe to sit and people watch.....
Sunday Char and I rented a car and headed over the Golden Gate Bridge. It was a classic foggy day perfect for driving over the bridge. We went through Muir Woods and got to see redwoods. Stopping at the beach to see the Pacific Ocean was a definite must, but I don't know how the kids were swimming. "The coldest winter ever spent was a summer in San Francisco" Aunt Char and I debated all weekend which was better- be somewhat chilly all the time or the extremes of Michigan. We drove through the few neighborhoods we hadn't walked yet and ended a perfect weekend at our new favorite irish pub!!!
Thanks Aunt Char for sharing such an awesome city with me!!! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Famous ChowderFamous Chowder
Famous Chowder

I tried to eat a sourdough bread bowl of Clam Chowder everyday.
city viewcity view
city view

Alcatraz had the best view of the city. So close, yet so far away!
Club FugaziClub Fugazi
Club Fugazi

"Beach Blanket Bablyon"
Haight Ashbury AreaHaight Ashbury Area
Haight Ashbury Area

Definitely had some, um, interesting shops!
Muir WoodsMuir Woods
Muir Woods

It was nice to get out of the city for a few hours.
Aunt Char and IAunt Char and I
Aunt Char and I

Had so much fun! Love ya Aunt Char :)


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb