San Fran ..... Alcatraz


Advertisement
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well after a monster day of touring around yesterday, I still had a couple of things I wanted to see before I head off to Vegas.

Today I caught the cable car down to the waterfront and walked along the pier to check out the sites, and then catch the ferry over to Alcatraz Island. The pier is always full of people and a really fun place to hang out - there are loads of shops, outdoor bars, and tons of waterfront restaurants to eat the sunny days away (lucky I am leaving today, too much yummy food could be dangerous).

After wandering the pier for a couple of hours I headed on over to Alcatraz Island. The island is only a short 10 minute ferry ride away, and I managed to keep my sea legs with no sicky poos overboard!!

It's such a weird feeling being on the island when you know it was a high security prison all those years ago. It feels so far away, yet also so close to freedom, as you can always see the San Francisco city just a short distance away. When you go into the main section of the prison, they hook everyone up with an audio tour, with the voices of some of the inmates and guards walking you through the cells and sharing their stories on living and trying to escape from Alcatraz - all very interesting and eery at the same time - being in those tiny cells was way too creepy for me!!

As it started to get dark, I almost broke into a sprint to get down to the dock and get off the island - there was no way I was going to be on that island after dark - way too spooky!!

Back to my hotel via the busy streets of San Francisco for one last look, before packing my bags ready for my wild weekend in Vegas...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



19th June 2007

By to the inmates
Great pics. How tiny is the cell ! Great Blog Mon - you really make it sound so much fun and excitement. Miss you to the moon and back. Bugsy is on the phone talking to you and here I am writing a blog comment - double wammy ! Love you xx

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb