Things that go "Bang" in the night


Advertisement
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night I crawled into bed when the sky darkened and fell fast asleep, exhausted from the hike I took earlier. I was deep in sleep when I heard voices shouting "Get out bear!" "Go on Bear". I was in a bit of a daze and thought it was some drunked foolish youth. The voices were nearing my canvas type thing I was sleeping in. I realized that they actually were shooing away a bear, then I heard a shot and then a loud bang with an illuminating light that accompanied it. It was a bit scary and I felt bad for the bear (I just think they scared it). Of course at that moment I "really" had to pee, so I ran to the bathroom and went before the bear returned.
In the morning I needed to pack out, the food, sleeping bag and luggage. I decided to brush my teeth and wash my face first, only to find out a bear was outside the bathroom "But he is friendly with people" one woman said. As curious as I was to run to tarp and get my camera I held off for a bit, and decided to wait to take the food to the car. I am sure the smell of that teriyaki beef jerkey might have made him pounce.
On the way to San Francisco I stopped in what looks like an ond western town (buildings dating to 1852) called "Groveland". I got some green tea to go. I noticed a postcard on the counter stating "I survived Old Priest Grade" with a color drawing a steep road. "What is that?" I inquired. "That is the alternate route to the new road, but it is very steep. It scared the heck out of me and nearly burned out my breaks." The cashier explained. I asked how to get there. She told me, another lady told me just to keep my car in low gear and be careful. On the way out I asked an older gentleman about it. "Don't do it young lady." he said. I would go down the new way and then go up it, but I tell everyone not to go down it without knowing how it is." So, I thought I would take the advice of the older man until I saw it, looking like it was a straight drop, I said "Go for
Taco BellTaco BellTaco Bell

This reminds me of "home".
it" to myself and went the 2 miles down the steep, curvey road, only wishing I would have went faster.
Now I am in San Francisco, where it costs $4.00 to cross a bridge and it is chilly and a bit windy, but they have good food. More to come later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Bay BridgeBay Bridge
Bay Bridge

On the way in to San Francisco.


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb