I Left My Heart in San Francisco


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco » Alcatraz
February 27th 2014
Published: March 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

There is something very magical about San Francisco, California. With so many iconic wonders that can be discovered, it is no wonder this stunning west coast city is the home of incredible culture and excitement. While San Fransisco has been the chosen setting for hundreds of movies, television shows, novels, and documentaries, it also is home to the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz Prison, Pier 39, and the famous street trolleys. This city is a fantastic American symbol which is a must-see when travelling on the west coast.

Upon moving to British Columbia, where I currently reside, I have been looking for many places around me to discover. One of these places was San Francisco, CA, which would be a fun road trip for myself and a few friends. I am hoping to go this year, and while I am there, I want to experience as much as possible of the beautiful San Francisco area.

First on my list is a lovely drive across the Golden Gate Bridge, which is one of the most famous bridges in the world. This bridge is particularly interesting, because at one time, it was the longest suspension bridge in the world. Today, is it a major icon for television shows, movies, and media alike, and it would be odd to hear of a person who has not seen pictures of this spectacular bridge. I cannot wait until the day I am able to drive across it, as I know it is a wonder I will need to see to believe.

Before moving to British Columbia, I studied Criminology in New Brunswick, where I developed an interest in crime stories, particularly the ones from Alcatraz Prison. This famous penitentiary, which operated from 1933-1963, was known as the home for notorious criminals, usually bank robbers or murderers. Alcatraz has since been abandoned and now can be visited by tourists to hear the unbelievable accounts of prisoners, to learn the history of the prison, and to feel the vibe of what such a prison was like. I have watched movies about this place, and have researched interesting stories of prisoners' experiences, and I long to see the prison which housed them and kept them isolated from the rest of the populations.

Alcatraz is located on an island, which made escaping its walls virtually impossible. There are accounts of attempted escapes, but most of them ended in death, as they were either captured again, or they had drowned when swept into the strong currents of the ocean. Alcatraz still haunts San Francisco Bay, and can be seen from the shores as an eerie, yet interesting destination.

A trip to San Francisco would not be completed without visiting Pier 39, a major tourist attraction featuring shopping, street entertainment, and famous restaurants. One of the more exciting features of Pier 39 are the sea lions that rest on the docks in the marina. People from all over come to see these sights and experience the vibes of Pier 39. Another neat part of Pier 39 is the views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Prison!

When visiting San Francisco, it is essential that a person rides one of the street trolleys, as it is such a unique and culturally-rich feature of the city. These street trolleys have been featured in many films, and have been providing transportation services around the city since the 19th Century. These trolleys are part of the last manual cable car service in the world, which makes it a spectacular feature for tourists to experience, as it is truly one of a kind.

With San Fransisco just a fun road trip away, I am hoping to experience these wonders very soon. Growing up with images of the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz Prison, Pier 39, and the street trolleys, it would be a rewarding and exciting experience to finally see the famous icons of San Francisco. I have already planned out the places I want to see, now I just have to get there.

See you soon, San Fran!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb