Hanging on the Edge: Preikestolen


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Preikestolen
January 31st 2014
Published: January 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Deep within the fjords of Western Norway is one of the world's most magnificent natural landmarks. In Lysefjord, one of Norway's prominent fjords, is a flat, square-shaped cliff, named Preikestolen. It extends over the water, which is almost 2000ft below, and showcases one of the most beautiful views Norway has to offer. Many tourists come here to see the unbelievable natural rock formation, as it is a place you need to see to believe. A person who visits here must be brave, as Preikestolen is 604 metres high and is very steep, and can be very scary for anyone who is scared of the height.

It has been my dream to travel to Preikestolen for a very long time. I long to see the fjords from up high and to step foot on the flat cliff overlooking the hills of Norway. To travel there would mean the world to me, for I would conquer not only a dream, but a fear of mine.

I am scared of the idea to travel there, as there is no railing or fence to protect the people who visit, only their discretion. I have had many dreams where I have travelled to Preikestolen, dangled my feet over the edge, and vertigo took over, leading to my fall. Many people have done this, and it bewilders me, as it is such a dangerous thing to do, yet so satisfying when its over. I long to do this, someday.

A man has recently fell off Preikestolen while visiting from Spain. He was trying to take some pictures along the edge when he tripped. This unfortunate accident was very recent, and it worries me that something of the sort could happen to me. The tourism company associated with Preikestolen does not want to put up a fence, as it could cause more accidents. People may lean on it, or become too trusting of the fence, which has the potential for more injuries or deaths. Many people believe that a fence could also ruin the pristine beauty of Preikestolen. I think that many people might go there for the rush of the danger and knowing they are in a terrifying, yet beautiful place.

Norway has always meant a great deal to me, as my penpal resides in a small town outside of Oslo. I was lucky enough to visit there during Christmas 2012, and this opportunity changed my life and revolutionized the way I saw travelling, my fears, and my dreams. Norway opened up a whole new world to me, as I am from a very small town and have never been exposed to a lifestyle and culture so differently. Upon my arrival to Norway, I researched a great deal, learning about what Norway has to offer. It was during this research that I stumbled upon Preikestolen, and I fell in love with the dream of travelling there.

When I visited, I asked how far away Preikestolen is from their town. Unfortunately, it was too far to visit when I was there, especially in winter; however, they have a cottage that is in a town just an hour away from Lysefjord and Preikestolen. If I were to visit in the summer, they said they would gladly take me to their cottage, along with an exciting trip to Preikestolen. My penpal and I have dreams for a Norwegian roadtrip someday in the future, so maybe we will make a stop there, to see the beautiful sights of the famous fjord.

Preikestolen has grown as a destination over the years, with more than 150 000 visitors a year. I don't mind that it has been developed as a tourist attraction, and it does not take away from the experience to me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb