San Diego, California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
March 29th 2013
Published: April 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

" When we got to the hotel in San Diego we met Avo Jay and went to Sea World. It was the best. We saw Shamu the killer whale and saw so much fun stuff. Sunday we went to the San Diego Zoo. My favorite animal was a Meerkat. Now we went home. That was a fun trip even though some bad things happened, it was still a good trip." - Sofia



We said our goodbye's to Lara, Ralf, and Milan early and headed for the border. We heard that it could take a few hours to cross as it is the worlds busiest border crossing. We arrived in the line after a bit more than 1.5 hours and then it was almost 2 hours in line in the car. Daddy thought that they were going to ask about the 39 bottles of wine he was bringing over the border (Californians allowed 1 bottle, others allowed 5 cases) The border control policeman asked me a lot of questions to make sure that I was daddy's daughter. I passed the test.

We arrived shortly after at our hotel where Avo Jay was already waiting for us. It was so good to see him again. We unpacked and headed for Sea World. We had less than 36 hours in San Diego and we decided we would fit in the 2 biggest attractions - Sea World and the San Diego Zoo. Daddy had not been to either for over 20 years.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I loved Sea World. I fed sea lions and sting rays. Feeding the stingrays was not easy, but I eventually got the hang of it. I loved the killer whale show, the dolphin show and the sea lion show. I wanted to get wet but didn't, only two drops on my pants despite being in the "soak zone". We had a great day there and stayed until it closed. My favorite animal there was the beluga, and daddy bought me a stuffed animal beluga.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The next day we went to the San Diego Zoo, which is one of the best in the world. It is even mentioned on the movie Madagascar. It was huge. We went on a ride that took us above the entire zoo. We saw sooo many animals. My favorite were the
Fun with DaddyFun with DaddyFun with Daddy

Polar Bear Den
cute meerkats, and Avo Jay bought me a stuffed animal meerkat. Maybe because I just watched Life of Pi for the second time. Probably the same reason I did not like the hyenas. I also loved the polar bear exhibit. The pandas were one of the main attractions but I though they were pretty boring becauase they just were lying down. After a full day at the zoo, we drove Avo Jay back to the hotel and then we took off for the airport. We had an overnight flight with 2 stops before we were to arrive in Miami. Because of all of Daddy's wine, we had 4 bags and 4 carry-ons.....and I was in charge of counting the bags to make sure they were all there.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

So after 3 different planes, we arrived in Miami and Sean picked us up. For the first time in many trips, one bottle of wine broke......It was the one named "Sofia". Daddy laughed when I said at least it was not a 2005. All clothes where in ziplocks so nothing ruined. I was happy to be back in Miami and ready to see my mommy, brother
Ice Age in 3DIce Age in 3DIce Age in 3D

San Diego Zoo
and start school again.

I would not be surprised if we went somewhere before our big summer trip in August to Myanmar, Laos, and Thailand....bye until next time. Daddy will be going to the Netherlands and Germany for a conference and see some friends while I am still at school and cannot go. I guess I will let him go without me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Feeding the StingraysFeeding the Stingrays
Feeding the Stingrays

Soooo much fun
Great Seats for the ShowGreat Seats for the Show
Great Seats for the Show

I really wanted to get wet but only had 2 drops get on me
Me and DaddyMe and Daddy
Me and Daddy

Polar Bear Den


15th April 2013

Living it up!
Hi Mike - I love seeing your adventures with your beautiful daughter. What an amazing journey for you both. - Adriana (Mutolo) Hartley
15th April 2013

Sounds like a great trip
I love the flamingo shot and the turkey leg. Sorry to hear some wine broke. Happy travels. Looking forward to your next blog.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb