T-Minus 12 hours and change


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
June 18th 2006
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

One day from now...One day from now...One day from now...

I'm not sure how it happened, but I seem to have taken a picture of the future...
Hello all,

In theory, this little entry, once posted by myself, will e-mail all of you readers and invite you to this site. The idea being that anytime I write a new blog, you'll all be informed and allowed to decide for yourselves whether or not to come visit. So in that sense, I s'pose that this is a test. That being said, feel free to leave comments, criticisms, semi-literate insults, whatever suits your fancy really. At least that way, I'll know somebody's paying attention.

It is slightly after 2am and in 7 hours Stacey and I will be on the road to Los Angeles. There we will meet up with the other half of what I unilaterally dubbed Operation Hippo Dance '06. If all goes according to plan, Stacey and I will breeze through LAX security and customs and can join Devan and Daniel in the midst of their layover, and then the adventure will have officially begun.

Stacey and I have spent the last few hours packing with the aid of Melissa (whose cramming skills are considerable). After much rolling and pressing and punching, I think I've got my backpack down to a size suitable for carry-on. In reality I am aware that this can only signify that I've forgotten to pack something incredibly vital that I won't remember until we're airborn. Alas. I can't speak for Stacey, but I'm currently residing in a half-panicked, half-ecstatic state of pre-trip jitters. The whole thing is starting to feel real and at the same time, impossible.

In a little over 24 hours, I will be dining on Fish 'n Chips.

PS- The next entry should be much less tedious. That is if London proves to be more exciting than my living room. If not, expect more of the above.

Advertisement



18th June 2006

from one packer to another
well, you both just left, excited and nervous, and i'll admit it, looking just a little like turtles. ;) I know you will be having an amazing time next time you update and I wanted you to know that it is a great honor that the infamously skilled packing legend that you are, think that my cramming skills are considerable. I look forward to your witty banter in the next update!!
19th June 2006

Great Site
This is wonderful, Jared. I look forward to the next one with great anticipation. Have a great trip!!! Love, Dad

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb