Squacking, Stomping, and Splashing: A San Diego Special


Advertisement
Published: June 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The zoo has screeching, squawking, crying, screaming, rampaging animals everywhere you look. I really think they were disturbing the poor residents in their cages. Despite the zoo being overrun with people everywhere I quite enjoyed it. Since the main reason I came to San Diego was to see the Pandas. Definitely worth the trip. The zoo itself has over 100 acres and it seems that every inch is packed with interesting animals and plants to see.
Here in San Diego I am enjoying the beautiful spring like weather. Apparently the average daily temperature here is 70 degrees year round. The negative side of the beautiful weather is the homeless population here is quite prevalent. I must have been hit up for money about 30 times on my first day and I didn't arrive until afternoon. I am extremely hardhearted toward money solicitations. If I could say no to the homeless women and children in India, the San Diego resident probably isn't going to sway me. Particularly since half of them were teenagers who, I think, just like to make fun of the tourists.
I have been in San Diego for four days and I saw the Zoo, Sea World and the San Diego museum of Art. I have barely scratched the surface of all the fun things to do here. I highly recommend it to anyone with two weeks vacation to fill. Particularly if you have children and lots of money. Sea World costs 69.99 for adults and 61.99 for children. (ARGH!)
By the way, if you are looking for stories of the Grand Canyon. My plans changed at the last minute and I didn't end up going. It is still on my list of places to see, so I will make an effort to go there on the way home from my international trip.
Next on the itinerary is two days and one night in LA before flying to Sydney.
Expenses for San Diego:
Sea World admission: $63.99 with coupon
San Diego Zoo admission: $35 with coupon
Food for 4 days: $39
Postcards and souvenirs: $10
Local bus trips: $15.75
Bus ticket to LA: $20
Hostel 4 nights: $84
Art Museum: $8 with student discount


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bayside Dance by Franklin Lee CotaBayside Dance by Franklin Lee Cota
Bayside Dance by Franklin Lee Cota

This is part of the "Urban Trees" public art program here. Don't you just love cities?
Tempest by Ron JermynTempest by Ron Jermyn
Tempest by Ron Jermyn

Beautiful but not very tree like.
San Diego SkylineSan Diego Skyline
San Diego Skyline

As see on the Sea World ride


11th June 2011

Cheap eats?
How did you manage to eat for only $39 over 4 days? Don't starve yourself!
15th June 2011

I found this store that sold granola bars for 25 cents, and cans of soup for $1. Then I just grabbed a sandwich from the 7-11 for lunch. It is a little boring but I refused to pay for food at the Zoo or Sea World.

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb