Onward to Sunny San Diego


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
March 4th 2011
Published: April 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

March 4, 2011

The western side of Washington State is dreary in March. Although the daylight hours are longer, the Sun doesn’t show itself much, giving way to overcast skies and drizzly rain. It is the perfect time of year to visit sunny San Diego! One of my best friends moved to southern California last year, so the primary purpose of this short trip was to visit her, and with the promise of 70F degree weather, who could say no?

Flying in Friday afternoon was interesting. I got to the airport in plenty of time, so I found a bar right next to my gate and ordered lunch and a couple beverages. Unfortunately, I did not hear the announcement that my gate had been moved. When I emerged – in plenty of time to board, I experienced a brief moment of confusion when seeing that the plane at my gate was going to Phoenix. Oh no, I thought. I needed to move from the satellite gate to the main terminal gate in negative 5 minutes. I made it, barely, and was the last guy to be seated. All the excitement totally killed my buzz from my two drinks at the bar. But at least I caught the plane. I was seated in the middle if a Russian family, of whose conversation I only understood “Da,” “Nyet,” and “Cheeseburger.” I believe the last is an international word.

At last – we landed! Kyla was just outside the magic security line to greet me. San Diego is an international airport, but small in comparison to the major hubs, so our walk back to her car was pretty short. We enjoyed a mellow evening, eating dinner at the Cheesecake Factory and renting a movie, and catching up.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.6kb