Day 16 - San Diego - Do You Zoo?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
February 12th 2008
Published: February 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have always loved the zoo. For a zoo person, it's really sad that I haven't been to a zoo in 30 years. NOW I HAVE, BIG TIME!
I can't remember when I haven't wanted to see the San Diego Zoo. Today we did and I loved it! It is so wonderful with so many types of animals and birds and the plants and habitats are amazing. But I think our favorites were the polar bears who put on such a show, wrestling, chasing, swimming and diving. The young grizzly bears showed us their version of wrestling, too. We saw a gorgeous black jaguar, the tiger was regal, and the mountain lions showed a lot of interest in a young mother with her toddler outside their cage. We saw meekats, otters, pigs and hogs, and birds of all sizes and colors. We walked for almost six hours and I was nearly hobbling by closing time. We finished the day with a tour bus ride (upper level) around the park. We may not walk tomorrow, but it was worth it.
By the way, as I write this, I can hear coyotes yapping in the campground. What a day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



15th February 2008

Charlie you took some fantastic pictures at the zoo. These creatures are gorgeous! No wonder you raved so much about it Kerry!

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb