San Diego Maradona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
January 18th 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

After emotional goodbyes, I travelled to the airport alone to fly to San Diego. Not feeling great (surprise, surprise), I was shocked when I got off the plane and the 80 degree heat hit me.

Got to the hotel and had an old man nap before vainly trying to find somewhere cheap to eat, settling in the end for a reasonble steak house.

The next day I had much more energy and decided a trip to the zoo was in order. It should have been a 10 minute bus ride there, except a lady in a wheelchair forgot to put her brake on, and when the bus slowed down, she zoomed to the front, eventually smashing into one of the seats. Cue paramedics and bus company managers worrying about being sued.

Finally got there at around midday, and was amazed at how big it was. As usual, a lot of the big cats and polar bears were sleeping, but the monkeys made up for it with their antics (especially the orangutans) but the highlight were the meerkats. They're like little people!

I finished up with a disappointing trip to the reptile house where I often couldn't tell if I was looking at a leaf or an animal of some sort.

I think after this trip I will know more about wildlife than David Bellamy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb