San Diego


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

San Diego is such a nice city. It reminds me a lot of Tampa, but with mountains. And the weather is a bit cooler. The downtown area was smaller than I had expected, which is perfect. I hate being overwhelmed by a city.

Mom and I stayed at the W Hotel. It was awesome! The service there was fantastic. It is definitely a younger hotel. It is very contemporary. The target crowd was younger, especially since the lobby bar becomes one of the hottest clubs in the city on the weekends.

Well our first day was centered around the zoo, the main attraction of San Diego. It is no wonder too, because it was amazing. The diversity of animals was outstanding. The main attraction was, as it always has been, the panda bear. It was sooo cute. The highlight of the entire visit. The other animals were fun as well, but I had never seen a panda in person. Something else to cross off my to do list! That night we went to a restaurant called Osetra’s. Not many restaurants stick out in my mind as memorable, but this is one that will. The food was fantastic, I had Dole stuffed with crab! And the wine was great, but it was what was in the middle of the room that was so different. In the middle of the bar was a huge cooler-tower of wine. It went from floor to ceiling-and the restaurant was two stories. It was the job of the female bartender, or as she was called the “wine angel,” to get in a harness and basically fly up the tower and retrieve the bottles needed. All I could say was, “Cool!”

Day two was La Jolla. La Jolla is a little town just north of San Diego. I’d describe it as the wealthy part of San Diego. Lots of boutiques, very cute, but very rich. They even had a Mazarati dealership. I can’t even spell the word, so if its wrong I apologize. The view from the town was gorgeous, though. We walked along a path that was on top of a cliff. The water looked beautiful and right below us were sea lions. After the cliff we went down into a cave in the cliff. A bit of a let down, because it was a small cave, an adventure none the less. And I had a good workout climbing back up the stairs.



Advertisement



19th June 2007

1st entry
Your description of San Diego was perfect. Sorry your phone doesn't work. Take care Love Mom

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb