Cali Trip January 2007


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
January 13th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh my what a great short trip that was! My cousin Tylar and my friend Emilio deceded to go to Cali for a few days. The car ride there was great we jammed out to great music and listened to books on tape. We stopped at my Unlce's in Palm Springs for a night, it is always great to see him. We went to dinner and he showed us around the city.
The next morning we drove up highway 74. It winds up a steep hill and has a great view not only all over the valley of Palm Springs but also the Salton Sea. We then drove through San Bernardino forest. We ended getting a little lost but arrived in San Diego by early afternoon, we checked into the hotel and then went to the beach. It was really cold at the beach, the water was about 68*F (20*c) but the wind was horrable. I thought it would be a great idea to go swimming...
I got out shivvering about 2 min. later and started talking with this really cute girl from Quebec.
We spent the next two days at the beach. It wasn't very sunny, or warm, but it
God ComplexGod ComplexGod Complex

I'm not conceded, I'm as great as they say I am.
was still beautiful.
The eaving before we left we made a drive from La Jolla down to mission beach, it was such an amazing view with the sun setting and being so far above the sea.
The morning we left we drove up to La Jolla again and saw the seal beach. We then drove to the highest peak in la jolla where a big monument to war veterans overlooks the coast and city.
We then drove through the mountains and visited Julian. Julain is a small town kind of like Prescott, that is know for it's apple pie. We bought a few pies and headed towards Palm Springs on a really creapy two lane country road. Before Palm Springs we stopped at the top of the lookout over the Palm Springs valley. It was so beautiful at night! The cities had so many lights that seemed so vast, it reminded me of Phoenix at night. The different thing about the view was that the Mountains surrounding the lights were even more vast than the city lights, that it dwarfed them. I always love to city how great and itricate humans can manipulate their environment, but enjoy it even more
Cool Car WashCool Car WashCool Car Wash

Palm Springs
when some of our greatest feats are given a reality check with the scale of our natural environment.
We then drove down the valley and stayed the night at my uncle's again. Later that night Emilio and I picked a HUGE box full of citrus fruit. Most were grapefruits (I made juice from them), but we also had a ton of lemons, kamquats and tangarines.
The next morning we drove the whole way back to Phoenix, then up to P-Town.
I love the simple pleasures of California, it makes me feel so relaxed to get on the open road a see a place with so much purifiing beauty.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Emilio Mountain TopEmilio Mountain Top
Emilio Mountain Top

And he tilts his hat... like this.
Beach BreakfastBeach Breakfast
Beach Breakfast

New York Times, Tea, Cali Beach: not a bad morning
Ocean RustOcean Rust
Ocean Rust

Too poetic for me to express.
COLD!COLD!
COLD!

Walking out there I was reminded of City of Angles


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb