Who are we?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
December 5th 2006
Published: December 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We're 2 people who lived across the hall in the UCSD college dorms. Our friendship was unlikely since we didn't have the greatest impressions of eachother. He quickly labeled me as a creepy chick and I saw him as Beavis and Butthead trapped in a giant Asian body. The lines of communication opened up when he came knocking on my door asking if I'd help him with his art project (turned him into a crossdresser for 3 days, haha).

Fastforward 12 years later: We're great friends and embarking on a crazy, mad dash journey throughout Southeast Asia. The vacation lasts 3 weeks and Week 1 will be in South Korea where Jeong currently resides. In Weeks 2 and 3, we will be travelling to Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar (formerly Burma), and Singapore. Yeah, we're nuts...

Diaster has already struck! My passport is lost. Three weeks ago, I sent it to the Myanmar Embassy in Washington, DC to obtain a visa. My flight leaves in 2 days and I'm without a passport! On Friday, December 1, 2005, I contacted several expediting services and checked the internet in attempt to avoid scams. I was an absolute mess that day and freaking out since my birth certificate was at my Mom's place and she didn't know where she stored it. Then, I would need to have my forms sealed at an acceptance facility. I went to my local post office and they were appointment only and booked until January! Agh!

Jeong and I continued to look into various expediting agencies that weekend. I tried to search facilities that accepted walk-in applicants. It's almost impossible to do on the weekend when government offices are closed.

Jeong sent me a URL to an agency that promised same-day approval but had like 66 compliants (definite scam) on BBB. He sent me another one that was local. I called the phone number and no one picked up. Of course, it's Saturday morning at 9am. I researched who owned the website through godaddy.com and found a name. I was desparate and called the listed number and someone actually picked up! OMG! I told her my situation and she was willing to try her best to help me. We've been playing phonetag for the past couple days to see if it's possible and gather all the necessary information. I still don't know if she's legit but she seems sincere. She helped me on a Saturday morning. On Monday, she called her courier in Washington, DC at 6am to see if what we wanted to do was possible or not. She immediately called me with her response and we went through the entire process on the phone. I'm crossing my fingers that UPS will deliver my passport by 8am on December 7 (1 hour before I need to drive to LAX airport to make my first flight). If I don't get my passport, this vacation will be a bust and Jeong is going to kill me!

I forgot to mention that I got very sick right after Thanksgiving and I'm still very sick to this day. I even went to Urgent Care at 5am on Saturday morning (Dec. 1).

I'm sick with the most awful hacking cough and congestion. I've only been this sick one other time in my life. I'm sick, I'm stressed with the passport situation, I'm stressed at work, and life sucks right now.


Advertisement



7th December 2006

crazy people
Yeah, you guys are nuts! That is why I like you. I'm sure your trip will be absolutely amazing and I am jealous! When you get back, e-mail me your phone number. I am much better at picking up a phone than sitting down at a computer and typing a letter saying what I have been up to for the past 4 years. That is too bad that ayou are sick. The best cure for a cold is ginger. Also, there is an Indian herbal goo called Chavanprash (the spelling varies) that has mega vitamin C. It is good for a cold, or for anyone who wants to prevent getting sick, particularly on a trip. You would be likely to find it in an Indian or Pakistani market, however I don't know how likely you will be to stumble upon an Indian or Pakistani market on your trip. Who knows. At any rate, enjoy every minute, even the cold ones, and I will keep checking back here...

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb