Poppin my blog cherry!


Advertisement
Published: April 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Playa Benirras at sunset 35 secs
Madrid boundMadrid boundMadrid bound

4 days after college grad I was ready to go
Hello blog world!

First off, I have never been very good with technology so if anyone has cool tips or suggestions about my blog, I am all ears.

Second, I have a few trips under my belt along with living and working abroad but my current mission: document and share my next expedition into the unknown. I did the work to secure my teaching position in Vietnam so now I am in a waiting game, til the day comes.

Today I made a check list of things to do before I leave which includes:


• consolidate my student loans
• cancel my cell phone plan
• clean out my wardrobe
• buy a large luggage
• make copies of all my documents
• clear off my computer and update the software
• check my insurance
• Vietnamese to English dictionary
• stock up and make up
• get hair done


If anyone is reading this, I have a 7 hour layover in Los Angeles and a 12 hour layover in Taipei, Taiwan. What on earth will I do for 12 hours in the airport in Taipei?! Not to fear, I think I have a plan. I remember I had to wait 12 for a
Ibiza town, Balerica Islands, SpainIbiza town, Balerica Islands, SpainIbiza town, Balerica Islands, Spain

View from the old fort over the main port of Ibiza town.
bus from Panama City back to San Jose, CR and the station was a HUGE mall and I still couldn't stay there 12 hours. I left and went back to my hostel to kick it with the people I met. SOOOO my plan is to (hopefully) meet up with someone who is familiar with Taipei and speaks English to meet me at the airport and take a quick tour and hit up some bars. Now, this is a little sketchy but I think it would be a better option than if I tried this on my own. I don't speak the language, I know nothing of Taipei and I don't want to waste the short 12 hours I have in the city. Also it is important to mention that I still believe in the inherent goodness of MOST people.

After this one night in Taipei, I will be a short 2 hours away from starting the next year of my life teaching. I find it ironic because I always hated English classes when I was young and somehow my degree is in communications and I am doing what I never imagined and I have fostered a curiosity for languages.

Happy traveling to everyone,

CWG over and out







Advertisement



20th May 2012

Hey!
I am also going to be teaching in Vietnam, in Hai Phong on June 1st for 6 months. I will be teaching at the AEI center, and I know of another girl around our ages that will also be there at the same time. Let us know when you arrive yes, and we can all go out and have a coffee or get some cocktails or whatever it is that you would like! Looking forward to meeting you and we are gonna have an epic time! You can find me on facebook, or my email is sierra.stonebrook@gmail.com. See ya!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb