Back in the U.S.S.A


Advertisement
Published: July 26th 2002
Edit Blog Post

After all my plans to travel in the deep, dark, depths of Mexico, I know find myself relaxing in sunny San Diego at Pacific Beach. I spent two nights in an average Hostel and moved to the Banana Bungalow this morning. It has a sweet location right on the beach and Keg Parties every night.

It was sad to say goodbye to my two new friends, Ali and Robie, but I know that adventure lies ahead for all of us! I am sure we will meet up soon. I had grown a little weary of life on the road and the sweltering Mexican heat. Whilst, my reasons for travelling are to see the world, I also want to get stuck into some more active pursuits. I will now stay put in San Diego for a while. Yesterday I caught my first waves and can know claim to be able to stand up on a surf board. I had some lessons from a local guru, Rusty O'Farrell, he had been surfing in San Diego sice the 1950's. He had me up and riding the waves in no time at all. Thanks Rusty!

Pacific Beach seems like an ideal spot from my first impressions. Hot, but not oppressively hot and with the beach, the bay, bars, clubs, surfing, biking etc. etc. I could well be in paradise.

Yet again I am reminded of what a small world it is, as I received an email today from an old school friend (Hamish), who will be arriving in town on the 28th as part of a whistlestop tour of the States. He has suggested a large one.......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb