Almost There...


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Goodbye RoomiesGoodbye RoomiesGoodbye Roomies

Jen and I are like a married couple, we've been living together for 6 years!
The journey started quite a while ago when some friends of mine got an idea to go around the world. I thought it was a great idea so I started saving. Their trip has since come and gone, but in a few weeks we will start out on our grand adventure. With all the excitement waiting for us, I thought I'd take a look back at this past year and the sacrifices we have made to make this happen.

At 25 years old, most of my friends are going to office happy hours, clubbing on the weekends, attending great concerts, taking weekend trips, buying new cars, going out to dinner, living in a nice apartment, etc, etc, etc. Although my life is similar in the fact that I wake up and go to work to make money, my life has been gravely different. There are very few happy hours and absolutely no drinking binges on Friday and Saturday nights. I eat pasta every other night for dinner and PB&J has become a routine lunch. For the past year, we have been cramming five people into my little 3 bedroom apartment all for the sake of $350/month rent! However, I know
I'll miss Rock 'n TumbleI'll miss Rock 'n TumbleI'll miss Rock 'n Tumble

Lindsay and I have worked many late nights together- I will miss her and seeing baby Sienna grow!
all these are just sacrifices made to the travel God.

I guess this all leads to me to the point that anyone CAN do it, but there are only the select few who actually make the conscious choice TO do it. It takes a certain kind of person to says "no" to their favorite band in concert for a night watching TV all for the sake of saving that $30 (because that is our day's budget in SE Asia!).

I know... it sounds like I'm doing an awful lot of complaining, but I don't want you to feel sorry for me. In a few weeks, when I am on the road not knowing when I'll return, I won't even remember the mundane Friday nights or those pasta dinners. I will have a whole new set of "problems"! "Problems" that I gladly welcome and that I will gladly solve.

Stay tuned... it's going to be a wild ride!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Goodbye San DiegoGoodbye San Diego
Goodbye San Diego

What a great send off!


10th June 2008

Proud of you
I will miss you so very much but I am very proud of you! Just be safe and remember to COME HOME because you have a family that loves you! Mom
1st July 2008

Cancun
You are lagging blogger
6th July 2008

Bye Krista and Jeff
It is Sunday morning and you guys are either at the airport or on a flight to Japan... It is a very special feeling those first few days when it finally hits you that you have finally left on an amazing journey that will change your whole life and outlook on it. I know you guys will have a great journey and I look forward to hearing the stories.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb