La Jolla Cove and San Diego Botanical Garden


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego » La Jolla
November 30th 2013
Published: February 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I made my way to La Jolla Cove to see the seals and wildlife. It was my first time to the ocean (however I did not go in it). I guess people say that there is a special smell in the area because of the seal life. I did not get that aroma but I have no sense of smell to tell you otherwise. It was nice to see seals in their natural habitat. I notice that there were scars on a few of them but there was definitely heavy scars on one of them that was beaching on a rock. Can you imagine the rough life (s)he has had so far and still managing to be around? The seal was alive, breathing, moving. But just the harm to him. A lot may be unintentional (boat propellers), some probably indirect unintentional (nets, plastic), and probably other wounds intentional-who knows? People are mean.

After my stop in La Jolla, I made my way to San Diego Botanical Garden. The Garden is a little on the small size but nicely packed with things. I was a bit disappointed about some of the upkeep but I am not sure if that had to do with the unseasonable weather that the area was having. The price was reasonable ($14 and parking $2...though the child prices I think were high at $8 for ages 3-12). I have to admit though, the layout was a little confusing for me. I actually doubled around because it was not easily directed but considering the size I do think it was put together well. One thing that I can comment on this was that the Children's section was absolutely beautiful and stunning!! Informational but also a nice little playground as well-which is what the little ones like.

While walking thru, there was a creek (? man made) which was soothing. The Children's area. An outlook podium (not much there but it was quiet). Herb garden. An area where there was statues. Also while I was walking, if you look off to the distance you saw two, I assume homes or one was home and another studio?) but the home was dome shaped. It was interesting because I wonder what the inside looked like.

I think it was worth the trip and worth the price and if you're in the area, why not spend a couple of hours?


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb