Introduction


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sacramento
August 22nd 2010
Published: August 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Emily BealsEmily BealsEmily Beals

Emily with soon to be T-day Turkeys at Harmony Hill Farm
This trip to Santa Fe, NM started while reading the latest Santa Fe Opera E-mail in December 09. I realized it had been almost 5 years since the last visit and I felt like I was missing the most enjoyable part of my musical world. Now going was not a problem, who could I go with was, as I knew very few people who would be willing to go with me across the street much less 1500 miles. KC was a possibility, but I would have to leave him in a kennel during the operas - vote no on KC.

I had recently met a woman named Emily Beals who was introduced by our mutual hair-cutter person. Emily loved all kinds of music including opera and had a venturing spirit. After several discussions, she thought the trip would be great especially the stops at National Parks for hiking and exploration.

So the tickets were purchased and plans developed resulting in a proposed 20 day trip, that was later modified to 16 in order to accommodate her farming activities. Yes Emily has a farm - Harmony Hill on her 10 acres in El Dorado county supplying produce to a food bank and Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) programs. She is a Master Gardener (MG) and works with other MG in Amador and El Dorado counties to plant and produce certifiable organic crops while implementing practices leading to sustainability of vegetation and the land. Although I not a MG or even a gardener, I believe in and respect all who treat the earth and nature (animal, vegetable, and mineral) with reverence. Although Emily and I were in tune relating to the earth, we also found many common threads and with our birthdays one day apart (unknown astrological meaning) there was a knowing we had some deeper spiritual connections.

We enjoy many of the same activities: hiking, biking, camping, kayaking, and in-depth/casual discussions on almost any subject from religion to politics (we don't always agree, but recognize I am usually right). Emily has 2 Masters degrees and spent almost 30 years teaching Special/regular Ed in San Francisco. We have found in most areas we compliment each other based on knowledge, experience, and philosophy. Bottom-line we are very in tune.

We plan to leave on August 24 and return around September 9. Welcome to all who join us on this trip. I will be doing the writing with final approval by Emily. I will also add some photographs and when possible add humor to help lighten the day. As you read along, inject yourself into our adventures, we will enjoy the company.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb