Sunburned and Laundry Girl, Mt Shasta, and My truck setup


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me cooking dinnerMe cooking dinnerMe cooking dinner

Me posing at Bunny Flats while my dinner cooks..
The snow and sun has taken its toll and left me sunburned, mostly on my face. I head out to the valley again, arriving in Red Bluff to run some errands. First on the list is laundry. I find a laundromat with help from my trusty Droid, and pick up some groceries. At the laundromat I noticed a hot local girl with gorgeous light eyes checking me out. We have some small-talkish conversation. Her name is Jenna and she is going to a local community college ultimately hoping to become a phlebotomist. At least I think that's what she said. Not being one to pass up a good opportunity, I ask her for her number, to which she sadly replied "I can't". "Boyfriend?", I immediately presumed. She informed me of her current state of being in what sounded to me like a messy on again off again relationship. So, I gave her my contact info and told her graciously if it didn't work out to give me a call. Oh well, it's always better to at least take a swing. Frankly, I'm amazed she thought I was cute given my scruffy and sunburned state. I think the polo shirt and shorts
Mt Shasta from Bunny Flats parking lotMt Shasta from Bunny Flats parking lotMt Shasta from Bunny Flats parking lot

Mt Shasta from Bunny Flats parking lot
preppy look must have fooled her.

This night I drove up to Bunny Flat (a parking lot and trailhead on the road going up to Mt. Shasta) to park for the night, on a tip from the backcountry skiers from Lassen. Met and talked to a few people who had finished (or failed) the Shasta climb. Apparently, you really only need snowshoes and an ice pick (and waterproof pants to glissade down) to get to the top. If I had an ice pick and it weren't going to rain tomorrow, I'd try to bag this 14 footer. Alas, maybe next time I pass through here. Also, I received an excellent hiking tip for the Goat Rocks wilderness up in Washington state from a guy here in the parking lot. The picture of me here is of me cooking dinner in said parking lot.

Now, I'll take a moment to reveal some of the details of my truck setup. First of all, as I've mentioned I have a Motorola Droid on a front windshield mount. This is the most useful piece of equipment I have, as it gives me internet, e-mail, GPS turn-by-turn voice directions, all manner of useful
Comfy sleeping areaComfy sleeping areaComfy sleeping area

Comfy and concealed sleeping area
apps, and finally it also has wifi tethering, so it functions as a router, delivering internet connectivity to my laptop. Frankly, this trip would be vastly more difficult without it.

I've got suitcases of clothes, my backpack, other miscellaneous equipment, my propane stove, and an innovative cooler within a cooler solution to keep out the intense heat of the inside of the truck on hot days. Also, as mentioned in an earlier log, I have a low-voltage DC plugged cooler, which keeps food cool or cold, depending on the outside temperature. All of this stuff is pushed to one side of the back of the truck (seats are always folded down) so the sleeping area is the other side. The sleeping side is covered with a foam mat for comfort. On the sleeping area side, the windows are covered from the inside with cut-to-fit sunshade material, attached with suction cups with metal hooks. This keeps the truck cooler and also prevents would-be onlookers or cops from peeking inside the truck. Overall this arrangement is pretty comfortable, and though it would be nice to have more space, you can't beat the compactness factor.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The back of the truckThe back of the truck
The back of the truck

The back of the truck, stuffed pushed to one side when I need to sleep.
Low voltage DC coolerLow voltage DC cooler
Low voltage DC cooler

Low voltage DC cooler, plugs into the rear cigarette (DC) outlet.
Coolers within a very large coolerCoolers within a very large cooler
Coolers within a very large cooler

Coolers within a very large cooler. Heavy duty protection from car heat.
Cut-to-fit sunshade materialCut-to-fit sunshade material
Cut-to-fit sunshade material

Cut-to-fit sunshade material
Side windows conceal interiorSide windows conceal interior
Side windows conceal interior

Side windows conceal interior
The information setupThe information setup
The information setup

Droid and laptop keep me connected.
Backpacking and showshoeing equipmentBackpacking and showshoeing equipment
Backpacking and showshoeing equipment

Backpacking and showshoeing equipment


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb