Palm Desert Hiking - California


Advertisement
Published: March 29th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Palm Desert CrossPalm Desert CrossPalm Desert Cross

Not a long hike, but a good solid workout. Was about a 7.5kms hike from our base.
This place is a hikers dream, so many places to walk and explore.

Our daughter has a condo there and we were lucky enough to be able to use it for a 3 month period.

The first and most local hike to her place is the Palm Desert Cross. This is a great hike up to a large Cross, which has been erected overlooking the area and is illuminated at night.

After about 1km on the Cross trail, there is a side trail, called, The Hopalong Cassidy trail ! Loved the name and decided to give it a go. This trail took you over to join the Bump track, which I will talk about later. The track was quiet narrow, but gave me some great views over the valley and towards the mountains.

The Bump and Grind track is a popular trail, which again gives you some great views. The path is quite steep in parts, but very manageable and again great views. You come to a gate, which is closed from 1st February to 30th April each year to protect the Bighorn sheep.

The last local trail that I went on, was called the Art Smith Trail. This is a great trail of about 14kms, with an elevation gain of about 1,465 feet. I decided to walk for about an hour, which meant I did about 4kms. Will venture back there when back in Palm Desert to complete the trail.

I did not venture up the Tramway, something I have previously posted and did not go to Joshua Tree National Park which are both close by, as I was advised they were both covered in snow and I was not prepared for that !

There are more tracks and tracks around the Palm Desert and Palm Springs area, which I will investigate when back in the US.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb