Burnout


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Pacific Grove
September 11th 2011
Published: July 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I learned another lesson mentioned by Burning Man veterans, the hard way.

Physically, the body requires some time to recover from the festival.

Some people are shocked I planned any driving this soon afterward.

While a day in Reno is enough for a mental recharge, I needed more physically.

If that’s not enough, I’ve had no rain for over a month straight, which means I haven’t had the top up for any drives.

The wind, dry air, and residue of Burning Man finally hit me hard.

Today, I spent nearly all my time in bed.

I found this surprising, although I shouldn’t have (see Sleep time).

I have to hope things become less overwhelming in the future, or I will need to cut down the amount I do each day simply to survive.





At least I had a nice place to recuperate.

Monterey is an expensive tourist town.

Pacific Grove next door is more residential and less expensive, although still pricey.

I spent most of the day at the Rosedale Inn, in an outer neighborhood of the latter.

The rooms are nice but not fancy and the staff is incredibly helpful, both of which helped me relax.





Many people attached a high amount of meaning to this date.

While reading the paper tonight, I saw a cartoon that captures my feelings on the subject rather well.

It’s from Pulitzer Prize winner Garry Trudeau.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb