Getting ready


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Oakland
July 25th 2011
Published: July 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hisaoka Reunion 2011


Every 3 or so years our sort of distant cousins in Canada hold a huge family reunion. We've found them to be a fun bunch, so we kind of grafted ourselves a little closer in on their family tree. I think this is the 5th or 6th reunion we've attended. Due to work schedules, etc., my son, Moose, and his significant other, Cory, and my daughter, Nikki, will be flying up to Lethbridge on Friday and just staying the weekend. Tomorrow morning my Mom & Dad pick up me, my granddaughter, Aria, and my aunt, Arlene, in their little Honda Civic and we head east on 80. The reality of 5 people traveling in the Civic will actually be even worse than it sounds because Aria is only 4 and has to use a car seat. The bottom of the car seat being rather wide and rigid means there's even less butt room in the back seat than normal.

I will try to do all the driving.

Our first leg will be okay, since we're only going as far as Reno. Then the next day we cross Nevada and spend the night in W. Wendover. Not so bad. The third day will be the killer, as we must drive all day to Helena, MT. The final day driving to Lethbridge will be easy, except maybe for the border crossing. My Dad planned this itinerary...

In Reno I am looking forward to stopping by the Sierra Trading Post Outlet, land of bargain outdoor/travel clothing and gear. Of course, there will be no room in the car to accommodate any purchases, so I don't know why I am looking forward to this. Perhaps after seeing the merchandise in person, I can order more confidently online. Anyway, we will be spending the night at Circus Circus, which should be fun for Aria. Stay tuned for more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb