One and Only, Napa!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Napa
November 11th 2023
Published: November 12th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever noticed that most other wine regions compare themselves to the Napa Valley? For good reason, Napa Valley wines are still the gold standard. And while these other areas have excellent, even award-winning wines, Napa is the glamor name through the years. Having tasted wine in Europe, South America, Africa, and Australia, I always hear Napa as the "grand" comparison. I much prefer Napa Valley as well, just because of familiarity, and comfort. I know where to go, and what to eat. I have cycled through the Valley since the 70s. I love the vibe, despite the ridiculous prices of both wine and tasting options. Go online, and it is not unusual to find wine tasting options at some Napa wineries over $100!!!!! But best travel buddy, Mike and I were just talking this morning about this. Why are they doing the money grab? Because they can. They get visitors from around the world, never been here before, never coming back. Make them feel special by handing over $100 for "exclusive" tastings. This is simply not the Napa Valley I once knew. And the others are following suit, including the Central Coast wineries. What can you do about this? One option is joining your favorite winery's tasting club. In my case, I have been a member of Domaine Carneros Chateau Society. It obligates me to buy two bottles of sparkling wine every other month. But when I visit, my tasting is complimentary, and my food and other tastings are discounted. And on weekends, we get to taste in their Member's Club Room and terrace. The other option is to just patronize the smaller guys. Why should I pay for someone's outrageous cost structure? Areas like Lodi and the Central Coast are also more affordable, less crowded. But much of the world is copying Napa Valley, charging for wine tasting, requiring reservations, and not applying the tasting fee to purchases. Another big issue is having a designated driver. Sheri is my designated driver, I am fortunate she does not drink! The highways are crawling with the local law enforcement people. So, just be smart! Dining here is another big plus, as there are no shortages of great places to eat. Since I prefer casual, I usually end up at Mustard's Grill in Yountville. Good menu, decent prices, noisy, but always good food, and a nice wine list. And parking on site, another plus. Downtown Napa has also stepped up their game, both for dining and wine tasting. See you there, despite everything I just said. Good, bad, outrageous, it is still the one and only, Napa Valley!! PS: And nobody knows Napa like Chris!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb