Better I eat Shark than Shark eat me.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Monterey
November 30th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

PelicansPelicansPelicans

A sketch from my sketch book
Morro Bay, Morro Strand State Beach, Campground.

01-11-2002.



Morro Bay's Embarcadero despite its bling-bling facade, is bustling with activity. Fish and chips restaurants abound, displaying the day's catch from the many fishing boats on tables outside reminding me off my empty belly.

The crews of small boats are busy unloading plastic crates full with crabs, cod, salmon and lobster, shell fish and even small sharks. My appetite is growing by the minute.

Local buyers check out the day's catch haggling over prices with fishing boats crews.

Allthough I'm ravenously hungry after my day on the bike, I'm not yet ready for food. I wanna check out this weirdly shaped big mass of stone and rock called Morro's Rock right at the end of the embarcadero.

In the last rays of a setting sun I see peregrine falcons cicling the rock giving it an eery sight.

Out at sea I see pelicans sky diving into the green/blue ocean hunting for a last meal and getting into airial battles with herons over their catch.

Just before total darkness decends I return to the embarcadero with my empty belly growling in protest at the delay.

a huge slice of Shark is on the menu - better I eat Shark than Shark eat me - together with french fries and mexican tortillas, a strange food combination which I wash away with strong dark red califonian wine.

Today was a day of easy cycling through low rolling hills covered in huge ancient oak trees that were home to numerous flocks of finches. I had the strong saline smell of the ocean in my nose long before leaving these rolling hills and actually seeing the sea beyond the shore.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb